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Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training 

(CLEET)  

 
Promissory Note Guidelines 

 

INTRODUCTION 

In accordance with Title 70 O.S. § 3311.11, beginning November 1, 2009, any person who is 
employed as a peace officer within the State of Oklahoma and who is scheduled to attend the 
basic law enforcement certification academy conducted by Council on Law Enforcement 
Education and Training (CLEET) shall, upon employment and prior to CLEET admission, be 
required to execute a promissory note payable to CLEET for reimbursement of training 
expenses. The promissory note is a promise to reimburse CLEET for the cost of training 
expenses if the Peace officer leaves the law enforcement profession in Oklahoma within four (4) 
years of graduating from CLEET basic academy. 

For purposes of this document, the Promissory Note discussed above will be referred to as the 
“Note.” 

GUIDELINES 

This statute applies only to law enforcement personnel or peace officers attending the basic law 
enforcement certification class at the State of Oklahoma Law Enforcement Training Center in 
Ada, Oklahoma.  

This is an agreement between CLEET and the individual signing this Promissory Note. Under no 
circumstances shall any city, county or other law enforcement agency be held liable by either 
CLEET or the individual signing this Promissory Note for any default, breech in terms of 
conditions, or payment due under this Promissory Note. 

EXECUTION OF THE NOTE 

Prior to admission, all Applicants must sign (or execute) the Note payable to CLEET for 
reimbursement of training expenses. Any Peace officer who leaves the law enforcement 
profession in Oklahoma within four (4) years of graduating from CLEET basic academy will be 
required to reimburse CLEET for the cost of training expenses.  
 
Any applicant who attends the basic academy at CLEET after November 1, 2009 will be required 
to sign the note. All employing agencies should ensure that potential hires are aware of this 
requirement. CLEET recommends that the Note be signed before an individual is hired by a law 
enforcement agency.  However, CLEET only requires that the Note be signed before the person 
attends CLEET basic academy in Ada, Oklahoma. 
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Any applicant who fails to sign the Note will not be admitted into the basic academy.  As proof 
of compliance, Applicants will be required to furnish CLEET with an original, signed Note prior 
to attending the Academy.  

TOTAL AMOUNT DUE 

The Note executed by the Applicant will be in the amount of $4,380.00.  The amount of the note 
is paid back over time. So, if a Peace officer continues to work in the law enforcement profession 
in Oklahoma following graduation from CLEET basic academy, the amount on the Note is 
reduced daily and paid back over time through service as an active Peace officer. After 
graduation from the basic academy, the Peace officer gets a credit of Three Dollars (US $3.00) 
for each day the Peace officer is an active employee of an Oklahoma law enforcement agency.  
 
When a Peace officer receives a credit of $3.00 per day, for each day of service, the amount of 
the Note is reduced to zero ($0.00) by the end of four years. Therefore, by the time a Peace 
officer fulfills the statutory four (4) year period of law enforcement service in Oklahoma, the 
Note will equal zero ($0.00) because the amount has been paid back in full through law 
enforcement service.  
 
A Peace officer begins to receive the $3.00 per day credit beginning the first day after graduation 
from the CLEET basic academy. 
 
A Peace officer will not receive a credit of $3.00 per day for days the Peace officer is considered 
‘Inactive’ by CLEET.  
 
APPLICABILITY 

 

If for any reason a Peace officer loses their law enforcement job or leaves the employment of a 
law enforcement agency, the officer is placed on ‘Inactive’ status. The Peace officer has ninety 
(90) days to obtain employment with another approved Oklahoma law enforcement agency 
before the note is due.   
 
If a Peace officer is not reemployed by another law enforcement agency, the balance of the note 
is due and payable on demand.  The peace officer may request a monthly payment arrangement 
with CLEET. If satisfactory payments are not made, peace officer certification will be 
suspended. 
 
If the Peace officer is hired by another law enforcement agency in Oklahoma within ninety (90) 
days of the date of becoming Inactive, the Peace officer will begin to receive $3.00 of credit per 
day beginning the day the officer begins employment with the new law enforcement agency. The 
officer will not receive the daily $3.00 credit during the period the officer was not employed by 
an Oklahoma law enforcement agency. 
 

INTEREST 

 

No interest shall be charged on the Note except in the event of default. In the event of default, 
interest shall accrue at the statutory rate, compounded annually, from the date of default. 
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CANCELLATION OF THE NOTE 

 

The Note may be waived or cancelled by the Director of CLEET only in limited, specific 
circumstances. Under the statute, the amounts due under the note are canceled if the Peace 
officer volunteers or is drafted into active military service subsequent to graduation from the 
basic academy. The Peace officer must provide proof of such military service to qualify for this 
waiver. The note may also be cancelled if the Director of CLEET determines that such 
cancellation would be in the best interest of law enforcement.  
 
The decision to waive or cancel a Note is within the sole discretion of the Director acting under 
the authority of CLEET. All decisions relating to waivers and cancellations are considered Final 
Agency Decisions of CLEET. The Director may require surrender of any CLEET certification as 
part of a cancellation of the Note. 
 
CAUSE OF ACTION 

 

A Peace officer’s failure to fulfill the obligation under the promissory note or to reimburse 
CLEET for training expenses under 70 § O.S. 3311.11 shall give rise to a cause of action and 
suit. CLEET shall commence the suit for and on behalf of the State of Oklahoma for restitution 
and any and all sums plus interest, costs, and reasonable attorney’s fees.  

PROMISSORY NOTE 

The following is the Promissory Note that will be executed by CLEET pursuant to 70 O.S. § 
3311.11. 
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COUNCIL ON LAW ENFORCEMENT EDUCATION AND 
TRAINING 

PROMISSORY NOTE 

 

Oklahoma law, Section 70 O.S. §3311.11 effective November 1, 2009, requires 
individuals who attend basic police officer certification training at the State of 
Oklahoma Peace Officer Training Academy in Ada, Oklahoma, to sign a promissory 
note that outlines their responsibility to repay the State of Oklahoma for the basic
training they receive should they leave the law enforcement profession in Oklahoma 
prior to completing four years of law enforcement service.  

This is an agreement between CLEET and the individual signing this Promissory Note. 
Under no circumstances shall any city, county or other law enforcement agency be held 
liable by either CLEET or the individual signing this Promissory Note for any default, 
breech in terms of conditions, or payment due under this Promissory Note. 
 
For purposes of explanation of the “Promissory Note” the following definitions apply: 

1.  A Promissory Note (“the Note”) is a written promise to pay a specific amount of money 

in accordance with the specific terms and conditions stated in the Note. 

2. The Note is required by Oklahoma law, 70 O.S. § 3311.11, hereafter referred to as 

Oklahoma Law. (A copy of this law is set out at the end of this document for reference.)  

The law encourages one to remain in law enforcement in Oklahoma for at least 4 years 

after graduation and certification as a peace officer.  

3. Oklahoma law provides that an individual may not enter the CLEET Basic Academy 

unless they have signed the Note. 

4. After CLEET graduation, an individual receives a credit of Three Dollars ($3.00) against 

the money owed under this Note for each day they are employed in Oklahoma law 

enforcement. This reduction includes but is not limited to regular days off, vacation, sick 

time, and holidays.  As long as one continues to work in Oklahoma law enforcement, the 

amount of money due under the Note continues to decrease. (The amount of the note is 

decreased daily and paid back over time through service as a full time peace officer.) If one 

works continuously in Oklahoma law enforcement for 4 years after they are certified, they 

will not owe any money under the Note.  

5. If one leaves Oklahoma law enforcement before the end of 4 years, they have 90 days to 

find another job in Oklahoma law enforcement. (They have a 90 day “grace period” to 

find new employment in Oklahoma law enforcement before the Note is due.) If one 

obtains new employment in Oklahoma law enforcement within 90 days, they will resume 
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1. repayment on the Note as if there were no interruption in service. One will not receive 

credit for the time they are not employed in Oklahoma law enforcement, but they will 

continue to receive credit under the Note on the first day of employment with a new 

Oklahoma law enforcement agency.  

2. If one leaves Oklahoma law enforcement before the end of 4 years and is unable to find 

new employment in Oklahoma law enforcement within 90 days, the Note will be due and 

one will owe to CLEET the amount left on their Note.  For an example, if an individual 

works one year, and then leaves Oklahoma law enforcement, the individual will owe ¾ of 

the total amount (4 years minus 1 year equals ¾ of the 4 years). If it is determined that 

one owes money under the Note, they will be given an opportunity to enter into a 

payment plan with CLEET. 

3. If one leaves Oklahoma law enforcement before 4 years and does not pay off the money 

due under the Note nor do they make payments as agreed to in a payment plan, CLEET 

can file suit in District Court to force the payment due under the Note. 

4. If one fails to comply with the terms and conditions of this agreement, the Council on 

Law Enforcement Education and Training (CLEET) will take action to enforce the Note.  

This action can include civil court action to collect money due under the Note, and taking 

action to collect any judgment the Court may make against one for failing to comply with 

the Note. 

5. If one leaves law enforcement they will be charged interest only if they default or fail to 

make payments as agreed to in the CLEET payment plan. In the event of default, interest 

shall accrue at the statutory rate, compounded annually, from the date of default. 

6. The Director of CLEET has the power to waive the Note if one enters active military 

service or if there are unusual circumstances which the Director believes are sufficient, 

and in the best interest of law enforcement.  That decision is entirely up to the Director.  

If the Director decides to waive the Note, the Director may require the individual to 

surrender his or her certification. 

7. The law requires that a Promissory Note contain certain legal, technical language. You 

may want to consult with your lawyer before signing this Note. CLEET cannot 

give individuals legal advice. 

8. In CLEET’s Promissory Note, the terms “I” or “me” refer to the person who signs the 

note.  In the law, the person who signs the note is known as the “Maker”, so any 

reference in the Note or in correspondence to “Maker” is a reference to the person who 

signs the Note. 

9. The following paragraphs are the legal, technical part required by the Courts. 
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COUNCIL ON LAW ENFORCEMENT EDUCATION AND TRAINING 

 
BASIC ACADEMY ATTENDANCE REPAYMENT FOR DEFAULT PROMISSORY 

NOTE 
 
 
This Promissory Note is an agreement between CLEET and the individual signing this 
Promissory Note, who will be referred to as “I” or “Me” or “Maker.” Under no 
circumstances shall any city, county or other law enforcement agency be held liable by 
either CLEET or the individual signing this Promissory Note for any default, breech in 
terms of conditions, or payment due under this Promissory Note. 
 
This Note is signed by_____________________________________________, who will be 
referred to in this Note as “I” or “Me” or “Maker”, in favor of the Council on Law 
Enforcement Education and Training, which will be referred to as “CLEET”.   

This Note is signed on this ____ day of ____________________, 20__. 

I understand and agree that this Note is signed pursuant to 70 O.S. § 3311.11, and that 
the provisions of that law govern this Note, and the statute is incorporated by reference.  
(“incorporated by reference” is a term that means by referring to the statute in this 
Note, it is just like the statute was written out in full in this Note).    

I promise to pay to CLEET the sum of Four Thousand Three Hundred Eighty Dollars 
(US $ 4,380.00), together with interest and costs as set out in this Note.  I understand 
that there are provisions for forgiving (“forgive” or “forgiving” is a word for allowing 
me to not pay) this Note that are set out in detail later in this Note. 

I understand and agree that if I do not comply with the law, the entire unpaid principal 
(“principal” is a word meaning the amount of money due without interest) and accrued 
interest, if any, shall become immediately due and payable on written demand by 
CLEET.  The amount of interest, if any, will be based on the Statutory interest rate (the 
“statutory interest rate” is determined each year by the Oklahoma State Treasurer 
under 12 O.S. § 727.1).  If any interest is due, it will be compounded on a yearly basis 
(“compounded” is a term for how interest is calculated). 

I understand and agree that the amount specified above (US $ 4,380.00) will be reduced 
at the rate of Three Dollars (US $3.00) per calendar day, beginning the first day after 
graduation and continuing for each day I am employed by a law enforcement agency in 
Oklahoma.  Any time that I am considered “inactive” under the CLEET rules, the 
amount due will not be reduced by $3.00 per day.   
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I understand and agree that if I leave a position with an Oklahoma law enforcement 
agency, I have 90 days to find another job in Oklahoma law enforcement.  If I do not get 
another job in Oklahoma law enforcement within 90 days, any and all money remaining 
under this Note is due immediately.  I also understand that I may be able to enter into a 
payment plan with CLEET.  The provisions for a payment plan are set out in another 
part of this Note. 

I understand and agree that if it is determined that I owe money under this Note, 
CLEET and I may agree on a payment plan providing for periodic monthly payments 
on a specific day of each month,  in whatever amount of monthly payment CLEET and I 
may agree to.  Any agreement for monthly payments must be in writing and signed by 
me and by CLEET.   All monthly payments will be first applied to interest (if any is 
due), and then to principal. 

I understand and agree that all payments must be made by a method acceptable to 
CLEET. 

I understand and agree that I can pay off all or part of this Note at any time and I won’t 
be charged any penalty for paying early. All prepayments shall first be applied to 
interest (if any is due), and then to principal.  I understand that if and when I pay this 
Note off entirely, I am not required by the law to continue to work in Oklahoma law 
enforcement. 

I understand and agree that all payments due under this Note shall be made at the 
offices of CLEET, located at 2401 Egypt Road, Ada, Oklahoma.  I agree to make 
payments to another place, if CLEET tells me to in writing to do so.   

I understand and agree that if I default on this Note (“default” is a word for failing 
abide by the terms and conditions of this Note), that I will pay all costs and expenses 
incurred by CLEET in enforcing the terms and conditions of this Note and/or collecting 
any monies owed by me to CLEET as a result of my default.  I understand that this 
might include, but is not limited to, all reasonable attorney fees as permitted by law, 
and may include reasonable charges from a collection agency, and interest.  

I understand and agree that if I fail to make any payment due under this Note, or if I 
violate any condition relating to this Note or the law, or if I file Bankruptcy, or if 
someone files an involuntary petition in bankruptcy or receivership (“an involuntary 
petition in bankruptcy or receivership” is when someone you owe money files in court 
to take over your finances) and that petition is not vacated within thirty (30) days, the 
entire balance of this Note and interest (if any is due) shall be immediately due and 
payable to CLEET. 
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I understand and agree that the terms of this Note cannot be changed or waived unless 
there is a written agreement signed by me and by CLEET.   

I understand and agree that CLEET may waive (or “forgive”) the money due under  
this Note  pursuant to 70 O.S. § 3311.11 if I volunteer or I am drafted into active military 
service, or in unusual instances where, in the sole opinion of the Director of CLEET, 
waiving the money due is in the best interest of law enforcement.   

I understand and agree that any decision to waive (or “forgive”) the money due under 
this Note is up to the Director, and the Director’s decision is final.  Any such decision of 
the Director shall be considered a Final Agency Action of CLEET (“Final Agency 
Action” is a final decision that cannot be appealed within CLEET).  If the Director 
waives the amount due under this Note due to unusual circumstances, I understand 
that the Director may require me to surrender my peace officer certification.   

I understand and agree that if I want CLEET to waive (or “forgive”) the money due 
under this Note for any reason, I must make my request  in writing and that the request 
must be delivered to CLEET at the address listed below, unless or until I receive written 
notification that a different address should be used for correspondence. 

I agree to waive notice and presentment (“notice and presentment” is a term for a 
formal and time-consuming process of informing you that you owe money under the 
Note and that it is due).  I agree that CLEET can notify me that I owe money under this 
Note by using the delivery methods set out below. 

I understand and agree that if a court determines that any portion of this Note is not 
enforceable under the law, all other provisions of this Note shall still be in full force and 
effect. 

I understand and agree that any notice or other correspondence necessary because of 
this Note shall be mailed by United States Postal Service (“USPS”) certified mail, return 
receipt requested, to the following addresses.  I also agree that CLEET and I will 
presume that these addresses are correct until and unless written notice of a change of 
address is provided. 

 CLEET –  2401 Egypt Road 
   Ada, OK    74820 
 
 MAKER -  ________________________________ 
   ________________________________ 
   ________________________________ 

________________________________  
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I understand and agree that if there is a dispute about what law governs this Note, all 
the terms and conditions of this Note shall be interpreted under the laws of The State of 
Oklahoma.  I agree that if CLEET has to file suit to enforce this Note that the suit can be 
filed in either Oklahoma County District Court or Pontotoc County District Court and 
that jurisdiction and venue (“jurisdiction and venue” is a term meaning which court 
should consider and decide a lawsuit) are correct in either Oklahoma County or 
Pontotoc County. 

 

Signed this ____ day of ____________, 2____ 

 

_________________________________ 
(signature of Maker) 
 
 
_________________________________ 
(printed name of Maker) 
 
State of Oklahoma  ) 
    ) ss 
County of _________________ ) 
 

 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this ____ day of _________________________, 2____ 
by _____________________________________ (the Maker) who acknowledged the same 
as his or her voluntary act. 

 

________________________________ 
Notary Public 
My commission number is __________________________ 
My commission expires _____________________________ 
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Attachment: Statutory Authority 
 
70 O.S. § 3311.11 (from www.oscn.net): 
 

A. Beginning November 1, 2009, any person or peace officer who desires to attend a basic law    
enforcement academy conducted by the Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training 
(CLEET) shall within ninety (90) days of hire and prior to CLEET admission, be required to score 
a minimum of seventy percent (70%) on a reading and writing comprehension examination 
approved and administered by CLEET to assure the applicant can read and write on a level 
necessary to perform the requirements of the CLEET academy. 
 

B. Beginning November 1, 2009, any person or peace officer who desires to attend the basic law 
enforcement academy conducted by CLEET shall, prior to admission, be required to provide 
proof of a score of a minimum of seventy percent (70%) on a physical agility test approved by 
CLEET to assure the applicant is in sufficient physical condition to avoid unnecessary injury 
during the basic law enforcement academy training.  

 
C. Beginning November 1, 2009, any person or peace officer, upon employment by a law 

enforcement agency and prior to attending a basic law enforcement academy conducted by 
CLEET, shall execute a promissory note for academy training expenses payable to CLEET 
whereby the person or peace officer promises to repay the note by remaining within the law 
enforcement profession in the State of Oklahoma in a position approved by rules and regulations 
of CLEET for four (4) years following graduation from the basic law enforcement academy. 

 
D. The amounts due pursuant to subsection C of this section shall be reduced at a rate of Three 

Dollars ($3.00) per calendar day beginning the first day after graduation from the basic law 
enforcement academy and continuing until the end of one thousand four hundred sixty (1,460) 
days. If for any reason a peace officer leaves the employment of a law enforcement agency and 
does not reemploy with an approved law enforcement agency within ninety (90) days of the date 
of becoming inactive the obligation shall be considered due. Upon default of the note, if no 
agreement for payment or payment schedule has been agreed upon, the certification of the 
peace officer shall be suspended. For purposes of repayment, periods of time where a peace 
officer is inactive shall not be included in the one-thousand-four-hundred-sixty-day employment 
period.  

 
E. The amount of a promissory note for academy training expenses that is cancelled under the 

provisions of this section shall not be considered income for the purposes of Oklahoma State 
Income Tax. 

 
F. The Director of CLEET may waive any or all promissory note obligations for academy training 

expenses in instances where in the sole opinion of the Director, a waiver is in the best interests of 
law enforcement.  

 
G.  Violation of the provisions of subsection D of this section or the terms of the promissory note for 

academy training expenses entered into pursuant to this section shall give rise to a cause of 
action and suit may be commenced by CLEET for and on behalf of the State of Oklahoma for 
restitution of any and all sums plus interest at the statutory rate, costs and reasonable attorney 
fees. All promissory notes for academy training expenses, interest and fees collected pursuant to 
this section shall be deposited into the Peace Officer Revolving Fund provided for in Section 
3311.7 of Title 70 of the Oklahoma Statutes. The provisions of this section shall not apply to 
persons who volunteer or are drafted into active military service subsequent to receiving CLEET 
training at state expense. 


