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Body Armor Donation
Cleet is in need of body armor donations. If

your agency has any used body armor that they
are willing to donate please contact - Rick
Amos at 405-239-5130. If your agency is
concerned about release issues, Rick will

provide you with a release agreement that was
drafted by our General Counsel. We would like
to keep this program running and make sure
that all graduating cadets have body armor.

2016 Training Initiatives
CLEET will be holding 2 training
initiatives in the near future. The
first one will be on May 9-11, in
Enid, Oklahoma. The second one
will be held on July 18-19-20, in
McAlester, Oklahoma. I will be
sending out a save the date soon

that will include course
information. We are working on
getting the courses scheduled.



ADJUNCT INSTRUCTORS
Appeal to All Oklahoma Law Enforcement Agencies:
In recent months, CLEET has experienced a sharp decline in the number of adjuncts that have
been able to assist with Basic Academy Training. Part of this decline is due to the severe weather
crisis that we have experienced. All areas of training are experiencing these shortages; however,
our skills classes in particular have been deeply affected. In addition to the needs for adjunct
instructors, we need assistance in conducting practical exercises during the last week of an
academy. Since these practical exercises have been added to the curriculum we have received
great reviews from the students, commenting that they are able to put into practice the skills that
they have learned during the 15 weeks of training.

CLEET provides housing and meals for persons assisting with training during a basic academy
class. In addition, certified peace officers receive 1 hour of continuing education credit for each
hour that they assist for basic academy instruction, per subject.

Firearms Training – The recommended ratio of instructors to students is 1 to 5 during the daytime
and 1 to 3 nighttime firearms training. We generally have 35 to 45 students on the range at any
one time. Currently, CLEET employs 5 full-time firearms instructors (2 are in administrative
positions) which, with one in the tower, allows us to train 15 people at a time (following the
above ratios) safely. The remaining instructional staff is comprised of adjuncts or line safety
officers. It should also be noted that we commonly split the class in half with those not on the
handgun range receiving training with the shotgun or handgun handling skills. Although this
configuration keeps students engaged, it removes at least one of our full-time instructors from the
handgun range, thus further pushing our instructor to student ratios.

The need for adjunct instructors on the firing range is not a new problem for CLEET. We are
constantly challenged with maintaining a safe instructor to student ratio and recent class size
increases have exacerbated the problem. We appreciate the commitment agencies across the
state have made toward the CLEET firearms program and with your continued support our
program will remain strong.

Law Enforcement Driving Training – We generally have between 12 and 15 vehicles operating
during LEDT training. Each vehicle has one instructor and three students participating to
complete the training in the required time. CLEET employs 7 full time LEDT instructors (some of
which are teaching other courses at the time of LEDT due to our operating two basic academies
at the same time, 12 months out of the year). Generally, we will need 8 to 12 adjuncts in every
class.

Practical Exercises – During the final week of the Basic Academy instruction, CLEET provides 20
hours of practical exercise, hands on training, to the students. We conduct 6 to 10 scenarios
(based on availability of personnel). Each scenario requires from 2 to 4 actors along with an
instructor to critique the students. In order to accomplish the scenario training we require a
minimum of 18 role players/instructors each day.



CLEET would like to congratulate Jeanelle Vanbuskirk. Jeanelle graduated Summa
Cum Laude with her Master's in Business Administration through Mid-American
University. She did this while teaching Defensive Tactics and Law Enforcement
Drivers Training at CLEET. She has completed many other certifications in the last
few years including, Law Enforcement Fitness Specialist in 2008, FLETC Defensive
Tactics Instructor in 2015, Monadnock DT/PR-24/Straight Baton Instructor,
G.R.A.C.I.E Instructor in 2015, Krav Maga Instructor 2015, Black Belt in Aikdio in
2006, 2nd Degree Black Belt in Hapkido in 2009, World Hapkido Association
Black Belt of the Year in 2008, World Hapkido Association International Instructor
in 2010. Jeanelle was inducted into the U.S. Martial Arts Hall of Fame in 2013 as
Law Enforcement Instructor of the Year and in 2014 as the Female Instructor of the
Year. These are just a few of the accomplishments that Jeanelle has completed in
the last few years.

POSSE INFORMATION
Due to issues with improper proof of full-time, commissioned peace officer
employment, a Posse Employment Attestation form has been created by the
Career Tech staff and must be:

• completed and signed by the Agency Head or Designee

• taken to the testing center by the Basic Academy Candidate and presented to the staff when
registering for the POSSE

Any eligible Candidate not having the form with him must pay the fee for the
POSSE at that time. NO EXCEPTIONS

CLEET does not pay for reserve officer or pre hire POSSE.

This form is available on the CLEET website: www.ok.gov/cleet/
Peace Officers reading, writing and comprehension test POSSE employment attestation.

This form is also available on the following website:
www.okhcp.com
Oklahoma POSSE, candidate resources, POSSE employment attestation.

INSTRUCTOR ACCOMPLISHMENT

http://http://www.okcareertech.org/educators/assessments-and-testing/health-certification-project-hcp
http://www.ok.gov/cleet


2016 Basic Academy Firearms Schedule

A1601: Session 1: March 15, 16, 17, 18, 22, 23
Session 2: April 05, 06, 07, 08, 12, 13

A1602: Session 1: May 17, 18, 19, 20, 24, 25
Session 2: June 07, 08, 09, 10, 14, 15

A1603B: Session 1: June 28, 29, 30, July 01, 12, 13

A1603 Session 1: August 02, 03, 04, 05, 09, 10
Session 2: August 23, 24, 25, 26, 30, 31

2016 Basic Academy LEDT Schedule

A1601B March 15, 16, 17, 18

A1602: Session 1: April 19, 20, 21, 22
Session 2: May 03, 04, 05, 06

A1603: Session 1: June 28, 29, 30, July 01
Session 2: July 19, 20, 21, 22

2016 Basic Academy Custody Control

A1601: Session 1: March 11, 15, 16, 17, 18, 22, 23
Session 2: April 01, 05, 06, 07, 08, 12, 13

A1602: Session 1: May 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 24, 25
Session 2: June 03, 07, 08, 09, 10, 14, 15

A1603: Session 1: July 29, August 02, 03, 04, 05, 09, 10
Session 2: August 19, 23, 24, 25, 26, 30, 31

BASIC ACADEMY SCHEDULE

Adjunct instructors may be provided one hour of continuing education credit for every
one hour of instruction provided, i.e. 10 hours of CE for one 10-hour day of

instruction, if they teach for the entire block of instruction including the classroom
day. If the instructor is not able to attend the entire block they will be awarded 8 hours
of CE credit once per year (as we have done in the past). If there are driving instructors
available during those two weeks I would be extremely appreciative if they would be
allowed to help. CLEET provides housing and two meals per day to adjuncts who
come to Ada to assist. Training runs from 0700 – 1730 hrs each day with one night

drive each week.

Practical Dates
A 1505 - March 15-16, 2016
A 1601 - April 26-27, 2016
A 1602 - June 28-29, 2016

A 1603 - September 13-14, 2016



DID YOU KNOW?
•State law requires agencies to notify CLEET within thirty (30 days) if an officer resigns while
under investigation. 70 O.S. 3311 (K) (8).

•Failure to submit Notice of Employment form may disqualify an agency from participating in
training programs. 3310 (I) (1).

•O.A.C.390:10-1-3 – All agencies are required to report employments and terminations within
ten (10) days on the current Notice of Employment form. Cadets are now required to sign
Promissory Notes when they enter the CLEET Academy. The Notification of Employment is an
important document used to establish employment and days credited.

•Accreditation – Agencies that conduct in-service training are required to submit an
Accreditation Form with Instructor’s information to CLEET for CLEET training credit. As of
January 1, 2012 Course Accreditation will be for a period of 3 years instead of 1 year.
Click here for accreditation information.

•Training that does not require accreditation and is taught by someone other than CLEET, such as
the Justice Department, FEMA, Federal Law Enforcement, BIA, Online and etc, requires a
Report of Training Form to accompany the roster or certificate.

•The new SDA concealed carry permit curriculum is available to licensed SDA instructors.
Please email breanna.atkeson@cleet.state.ok.us for your copy. You will need to provide your
name and SDA instructor number. The staff at CLEET thanks all of the people who assisted with
the revision, including, but not limited to: Thomas B.W. Nation, Miles Hall, Jack Ostendorf,
Dean Vassilakos, B. Branch, and Mike Miller.

•Several universities are now giving credit or determining if they can give credit for time spent in
the CLEET Basic Academy, and the Law Enforcement Terrorism Certification Program—Basic,
Intermediate and Advanced Certification. If you are interested in gaining college credit for
CLEET training hours, talk to your university and if they are giving this credit, you can request
your training record from CLEET and submit it to your university.

•Any adjunct instructor seeking compensation, should work diligently with CLEET to get
contracts turned in no less than 60 days prior to the course that they are seeking payment for.

•All emails sent and received by CLEET employees are considered property of CLEET and may be
subject to disclosure to the public pursuant to the Oklahoma Public Records Act.

CLEET has continuing education classes that are limited for one reason or another. After the class
has reached its maximum number we are required to close them. There are officers who do not
withdraw, thus, taking a spot that another officer could have had had we known there was
space. This gives a false number of officers who are enrolled to the instructors (who donate their
time to teach). This also can cost the Instructors time and possibly waste of handouts. We ask
you to be mindful and courteous to your fellow officers and withdraw as soon as you find out
you are unable to attend. Should this continue CLEET may enact sanctions against habitual
offenders.

CONTINUING EDUCATION INFORMATION

http://https://www.ok.gov/cleet/CLEET_Training/Continuing_Education_-_Accreditation/index.html


TRAINING OPPORTUNITIES

Online training for CLEET credit can now be obtained
through the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center
(FLETC) website. Please click on the following web
http://www.acadis.net/fletc/. Once at the site, those
who maintain a CLEET certification and are active law
enforcement officers can register for an account to
access 200 courses funded by FLETC (free to the
departments). After completing the short registration
form, LETN will follow-up with an e-mail/phone call
to the agency head or supervisor to confirm the
provided information. Access to the training should
be granted within a few days. Until further notices,
print, scan or forward certificates received from LETN
training to CLEET so we can properly credit (e-mail
[preferred], fax, or mail) training records.
----------------------------------------------------------
A Solution That Kills Addiction & Drugs of
Choice
5-19-2016 - OKC - Mid American Christian
University - South

Domestic Violence Investigation (MH)
5-26-2016 - Arkoma - Arkoma Police
Department

Medical Conditions That Mimic DUI (MH)
3-22-2016 - OKC - Francis Tuttle - Reno
Campus

Medical Conditions That Mimic DUI (T-T-T)
3-22-2016 - OKC - Francis Tuttle - Reno
Campus

2Much2Lose
5-3&4-2016 - Catoosa - Hard Rock Casino

Preventing The Escape: Tactical Move Of A
Prisoner
3-28-2016 - Durant - Durant Police
Department
3-31-2016 - Tecumseh - Tecumseh City
Hall
4-1-2016 - Miami - Miami Civic Center

4-4-2016 - McAlester - McAlester Public
School Central Office Cafeteria
4-5-2016 - Ardmore - Ardmore Convention
Center
4-11-2016 - Ponca City - Ponca City P.D.
Training Center
4-12-2016 - Canadian County SO Annex
Training Center
4-15-2016 - Enid - Enid Police Department

Survival Spanish For L.E.
8-3-2016 - Claremore

Transportation of Prisoners
7-16-2016 - Lawton - Location TBA

They Said or Did What? (MH)
5-17-2016 - Altus - Southwest Technology
Center
5-18-2016 - Duncan - Red River Tech Center
6-8-2016 - Woodward - High Plains Tech
Center

Reserve Academy Coordinator
3-16-2016 - Ada - CLEET

Victimology As An Investigative Tool
6-2-2016 - OKC - Mid American Christian
University

There are also other continuing
education courses that agencies other
than CLEET are hosting. Your can find
these on our website under the CLEET
Training tab and then click on
continuing education classroom training.
You can also click here and it will take
you to the page.

http://https://www.ok.gov/cleet/CLEET_Training/Continuing_Education_-_User_Login_-_CE_Courses/index.html
http://https://www.fletc.gov


From the Peace Officer Records Division
CONTINUING EDUCATION

Agency administrators, training coordinators, instructors, and officers need to start reviewing their training
record to make sure that all training attended has posted to his/her training record. It is vital that
instructors submit their training rosters to CLEET as soon as courses are completed. Training coordinators
are encouraged to watch their full-time officers training history to make sure that they are on track to
completing the required mandate training hours of 25 total hours, 2 hours of which must be mental health
related. All officers, full-time and reserve, must have a firearms requalification (even if they just worked
one day in the calendar year).

As standard practice, CLEET accepts current year continuing education for posting with the following
exceptions.

If an officer is not compliant for previous year(s) service, CLEET will accept training from prior
years to post as make-up training for that particular year.

CLEET has on occasion posted prior training if an officer shows “just cause” that he/she had a
specialty skill (i.e., OC Spray, taser training, skills instructor training) and needs the training posted
to his/her record.

CLEET has also recently started recording certain FEMA courses that are required to apply for
federal funding through grant programs.

Law enforcement related military training would have to be submitted for administrative review
and approval before it can be posted to CLEET record.

Continuing education training hours accumulated over the state mandated 25 hours (two of which are
mental health) are not carried over to next training year. Training hours are applied to the year in which
they are taken unless officer has deficiencies in previous years of service.

If an officer attends training and they do not sign a CLEET roster (i.e., out-of-state training, online training,
etc.), they will need to complete a Report of Training transmittal form for each certificate and submit the
form and certificate to CLEET as soon as possible. The Report of Training form can be found at
HYPERLINK "http://www.ok.gov/cleet/documents/ReportOfTraining.pdf" http://www.ok.gov/cleet/
documents/ReportOfTraining.pdf .

AGENCY EMPLOYEE STATUS/INFORMATION REPORT

Agency Administrators please be reminded of the following statutes:

70 O.S., § 3311 (I) Requires that every law enforcement agency employing police or peace
officers in this state shall submit to CLEET on or before October 1 of each calendar year a complete list of
all commissioned employees with a current mailing address and phone number for each such employee.

CLEET will start accepting electronic submission via an Excel spreadsheet on July 1, 2015 for the report
year 2015. The spreadsheet method will help law enforcement agencies report only data needed for each
of your peace officers in a document that can be easily uploaded to our system. Electronic submission
instructions are included on the website. Some departments should be able to extract this data from your
own internal agency database and place the information into the CLEET spreadsheet.

PEACE OFFICER RECORDS DIVISION



Once CLEET has received your Agency Employee Status/Information Report, you will be notified by letter
that we have received the report. The letter will also inform you if we find any discrepancies between the
information you provided and CLEET’s current records. For information and assistance with the electronic
submission method of reporting, please contact Robbie Weathers at 405-239-5120 or Norma Floyd at
405-945-9153. This information should only be reported by each agency once per year before the
October 1st deadline.

Every law enforcement agency should have a training coordinator identified and will need to fill out the
appropriate online records agreement to submit to CLEET. If your agency does not have a training
coordinator, CLEET will accept the report from the department/agency head or designee. CLEET will post
an affidavit form with the instructions and spreadsheet so that administrators can advise CLEET that the
individual reporting to CLEET is an authorized designee of the department. If the report comes from
anyone other than the agency administrator or the training coordinator, this form will be required to make
changes to your department officers’ individual records. The training coordinator can be the agency
administrator. For information about the online records agreement and initial set up of your agency for
electronic submissions, please contact Julie Bender at 405-239-5122.

If commissioned employees notify your agency of address changes throughout the year, please make sure
that they are aware that they must complete a Notice of Change of Address form and submit to CLEET per
the Statute below:

70 O.S., § 3311 (Q) Is new language that requires all peace officers, reserve peace officers and
tribal peace officers to maintain with the Council current residential addresses and shall notify the Council,
in writing, of any change of name. Notification of change of name shall require certified copies of any
marriage license or other court document which reflects the change of name. Notice of change of address
or telephone number must be made within ten (10) days of the effective change. Notices will not be
accepted over the phone.

The address correction form can be found at: "http://www.ok.gov/cleet/documents/
PoliceOfficerAddressChange_V2.pdf" http://www.ok.gov/cleet/documents/
PoliceOfficerAddressChange_V2.pdf

SPECIALIZED INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION

Academy cities and outside law enforcement agencies will be allowed to sponsor the firearms, LEDT, and
defensive tactics skills instructor courses. They first need to contact Shannon Butler to be approved to
sponsor the course. They then will need to apply for an accreditation number(s) for their school.

They will be assigned individual accreditation numbers for their school by applying for accreditation with
Tami Burnett. Tami can also assign instructor apprenticeship accreditation numbers to only Academy
Cities.

Academy cities are: Broken Arrow PD, Edmond PD, Norman PD, Oklahoma Highway Patrol, Tulsa PD,
Oklahoma City PD, and Lawton PD.

Academy cities can do the apprenticeship portion of the instructor training with their employees only. If
they open their instructor school up to other agencies, the other agency individuals will have to come to
CLEET to complete their apprenticeship training.

Each individual is responsible for notifying CLEET that they are ready to do their apprenticeship and must
complete the apprenticeship within one year or less from the final day of completion of the skills training.
Hours will be granted for instructor schools as they finish phases and apprenticeships.



The officer is not considered a CLEET certified instructor until they have completed all instructor skills
training and an apprenticeship as noted above. If the officer is required to finish the apprenticeship at
CLEET, they will need to contact one of the individuals listed below to schedule for a Basic Academy.
Cleet Contact Info:

Outside cities will work with CLEET Administrative staff to verify that all individuals attending their
schools meet the minimum requirements for the courses.

Rule 390:25-1-11. Requirements for specialized instructor certification
To qualify for specialized instructor certification, applicants must meet the following qualifications:
Meet the qualifications for basic instructor certification as described in OAC 390:25-1-10; and
Successfully complete a CLEET recognized or approved instructor development school in the specialized
field for which application is made.

The director or director’s designee may, in the exercise of discretion, award special instructor certification
to applicants who have completed comparable training, education or experience that equals or exceeds
the qualifications for specialized instructor certification. Applicants awarded special instructor
certification will be required to complete the apprenticeship phase of CLEET training for the specialized
instructor certification sought to demonstrate proficiency in the requisite skills.

RESERVE OFFICER POSSE TEST REQUIREMENT

Below is the language from SB 135 which is effective November 1, 2015.

70 O.S. Section 3311.11.A.
Any person or peace officer who desires to attend a basic law enforcement academy conducted by the
Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training (CLEET) shall within ninety (90) days of hire and
prior to CLEET admission, be required to score a minimum of seventy percent (70%) on a reading and
writing comprehension examination approved and administered by CLEET to assure the applicant can
read and write on a level necessary to perform the requirements of the CLEET academy. Any person or
any peace officer who desires to attend a CLEET-approved reserve basic law enforcement academy shall,
within ninety (90) days of hire and prior to reserve basic law enforcement academy admission, be
required to score a minimum of seventy percent (70%) on a reading and writing comprehension
examination approved by CLEET to assure the applicant can read and write at a level necessary to
perform the requirements of the reserve academy.

Summary – Starting November 1, 2015, to attend a Reserve Academy, reserve cadets must pass a reading
and writing comprehension examination (known as the P.O.S.S.E. test) prior to being admitted in the
academy. It must be taken and passed within ninety (90) days of hire and prior to attending a reserve
academy. It is the responsibility of the reserve cadet or their department to pay the twenty-five ($25.00)
fee for the examination. CLEET does not pay the fee for reserve officers. The POSSE test is given by the
Oklahoma Technology Centers. Proof of passing the examination will be necessary for the reserve officer
application effective November 1, 2015.



No one will be scheduled or confirmed for an academy until all paperwork is
completed and received by CLEET. The reading, writing and comprehension test is

a prerequisite for admission into the CLEET Basic Academy. For testing
information click here. New hire full time non-certified officers must take this test

within 90 days of hire.

BASIC ACADEMY SCHEDULE

Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training Meeting
April 20, 2016 - OKC - 10:00 a.m.

Advisory Council Meeting
April 06, 2016 - Ada - CLEET - 10:00 a.m.

Curriculum Review Board
May 10, 2016 - Ada - CLEET - 10:00 a.m.

Private Security Advisory Committee Meeting
June 08, 2016 - Ada - CLEET - 10:00 a.m.

Drug Dog Advisory Council
April 14, 2016 - Ada - CLEET - 10:00 a.m.

Bomb Dog Advisory Council
April 14, 2016 - Ada - CLEET - 1:00 p.m.

Polygraph Board
April 22, 2016 - Ada - CLEET - 10:00 a.m.

A-1602 - March 23, 2016 - July 01, 2016
A-1603 - June 01, 2016 - September 16, 2016
A-1603B - June 01, 2016 - August 12, 2016
A-1604 - August 17, 2016 - December 02, 2016
A-1605 - October 26, 2016 - February 24, 2017

OPEN MEETINGS

http://https://www.ok.gov/cleet/Peace_Officers/Basic_Academy_Schedule/index.html


CLEET has a satellite office in Claremore at the Rogers State University 1701 W
Will Rogers, Prep Hall – Room106. Tami Burnett offices there and it’s open to LE
Officers, Security Personnel and the general public. If you would like to schedule
an appointment with Tami, you can email her at tami.burnett@cleet.state.ok.us or
reach her by calling 405-546-0159.

Accreditations: To ensure a response within 24 hours, please email all
accreditation request forms/documents to tami.burnett@cleet.state.ok.us. Please
note: Tami Burnett works out of NE Oklahoma so if you send your accreditation
request forms/documents via mail or fax to the main office in Ada, it could take up
to two weeks before your request is processed.

We also have a satellite office in Oklahoma City at OSU/OKC. Norma Floyd is at
this location on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 9:00 - 4:00. The office is located in
room 143 of the Human Services Education Center. Norma's phone number is
405-945-9154 and her email address is norma.floyd@cleet.state.ok.us. You can
also contact her regarding private security applications.

SATELLITE OFFICE - CLAREMORE AND OKC

Collegiate Officer Program
Law enforcement agencies have an option when it comes to hiring peace officers.
Normally a non-certified person is hired then sent to the sixteen (16) week Basic
Police Academy. The Collegiate Officer Program (COP) is an alternative that
incorporates CLEET’s basic law enforcement curriculum and skills within a
Criminal Justice/Police Science Degree.

When the COP track student has completed all requirements, including skills, and
has been issued an Associate or Bachelor’s degree, a Qualification Exam is
scheduled. After they pass this exam, they are mailed a Verification Form that
states they are ready for certification upon full-time employment. They are also
listed on an eligibility list that is available to all law enforcement agencies upon
request by email to kelly.james@cleet.state.ok.us.

When CLEET receives a Notice of Employment from an employing agency or
department with the” Requesting Collegiate Officer Program Certification” box
checked, a “Collegiate Officer Certification Application” is mailed to the
department. When the completed application is returned to CLEET a certification is
issued.



CLEET Council
Sheriff John Whetsel,

Oklahoma County Sheriff’s Office – Chair

Chief Michael Robinson,
Oklahoma State University DPS – Vice Chair

Dr. James Burke,
East Central University

Sheriff John Christian,
Pontotoc County Sheriff’s Office

Chief Bill Citty,
Oklahoma City Police Department

Director Stan Florence,
Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation

Major Pat Mays
Oklahoma Highway Patrol

Director Norman McNickle,
City of Stillwater DPS

Chief Bob Ricks,
Edmond Police Department

Chief Ike Shirley
Bixby Police Department

Chief Jason Smith,
Anadarko Police Department

Chief Randy Wesley,
Chickasaw Nation Lighthorse Police Department



DAILY PHYSICAL TRAINING
Officers, deputies, and agents attending a CLEET Basic Academy will now be required to spend
the last 30 minutes of each training day participating in various forms of light exercise and
stretching. Physical Training during the Academy has been designed by CLEET staff that are
certified Law Enforcement Fitness Specialists and Master Fitness Instructors by the Cooper
Institute.

Physical fitness exercises that students will be participating in are:
•Power walking/light jog (equivalent to a 20 minute mile)
•Basic jumping jack, body weight squats (Slow count of 3 seconds down / 3 seconds up) walking
lunges

•Bear crawls
•Planks and/or crunches
•Pushup

Other exercises that will be done may include various portions for the actual CC/DT block such
as patterns of movement, step and drag drills, officer survival drills and much more.

The goal is to take this 30 minutes each day and:
•Help better prepare each cadet for the upcoming training in CC/DT.
•Allow them to have a small amount of extra time in order to help increase their knowledge in
officer safety techniques.

•Bring those who are lacking in physical conditioning to a higher level of self awareness and
prepare them for the academy.

•Possibly instill better eating and physical fitness awareness for their future in L.E.
•Possibly reduce injuries here at the academy as well as on the job related injuries and illness.

ALERRT Program

The Homeland Security grant directing CLEET to provide active shooter training

is progressing better than we had expected. There are classes being held across

the state and the officers that have attended are expressing their support for the program. We

have classes scheduled four months in advance and they are available for registration on the

CLEET website. 3600 officers have been trained in the ALERRT End User courses and we have

trained over 90 ALERRT instructors. The classes are two day sessions with 16 hours of CLEET

continuing education credit.

Click here to login and enroll in an ALERRT course near you.

http://https://www.ok.gov/cleet/CLEET_Training/Continuing_Education_-_User_Login_-_CE_Courses/index.html


THE WARRIOR'S EDGE
Based on Lt. Glennon's book, Arresting Communication, this course is designed to
examine how important communication skills are as it pertains to Officer Safety.
Participants will develop a basic understanding of human nature, discuss the true
reality of violence, and examine how effective communications skills are the most
important weapon in detecting and preventing attacks. The topics covered in this
seminar are considered essential for Winning on the Street!

TOPICS INCLUDE:

• Detect Pre-Attack Indicators
• Recognize Deception
• Develop Effective Routines
• Accurately Read Body Language
• Treat Others With Respect
• Establish Command Presence
• The "idiot" Factor
• Understanding Proxemics

HOSTED BY:
WICHITA/SEDGWICK COUNTY LAW ENFORCEMENT

TRAINING CENTER

LOCATION:
HEARTLAND PREPAREDNESS CENTER

2808 N. NEW YORK STREET
WICHITA, KS 67219

CLASS FEE:
$139 PER PERSON

GROUPS OF 3 OR MORE - $129 PER PERSON (USE PROMO CODE AAA10)
GROUPS OF 6 OR MORE - $109 PER PERSON (USE PROMO CODE AAA30)

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER
FOR MORE INFORMATION OR TO REGISTER A LARGER GROUP CONTACT

Kelsey Arnold 630-730-2724 or kelsey@calibrepress.com



CLEET statute changes for 2015

SB 64 (effective November 1, 2015) amends Title 70 O.S. Section 3311 to clarify the process to be followed when
a peace officer is involuntarily committed (to match the provisions of the Mental Health Act). Also allows CLEET
to subpoena records to assure compliance with the statutes. Use of these records is limited and there is a very specific
confidentiality requirement.

SB 135 (effective November 1, 2015) amends Title 70 O.S. Section 3311 for several purposes:
-Clarifies CLEET’s authority under the Bail Enforcement Act
-requires and authorizes CLEET to address any requirements imposed by LEOSA (HR 218)
-Allows CLEET to use a certified copy of a criminal indictment or information as ‘clear and convincing
evidence’ of the charge, for purposes of suspension pending disposition in appropriate cases.
-requires theAgency tocertify that anewlyhiredpeaceofficerhiredoesnothaveanycriminal chargespending
at the time of employment.
-Clarifies that an ‘Alford’ plea (inwhich the defendant accepts the consequences of a guilty pleawithout ever
admitting guilt), or ‘any plea other than not guilty’ is a sufficient basis for disciplinary action against the
officer. Also requires the District Attorney to report any such plea to CLEET and extends that reporting
requirement to Reserve Officers.
-Allows CLEET to deny certification to a personwho has had a certification revoked in another state andwas
not re-instated by that state.
-prohibits CLEET employees from training or testing bomb detecting and drug detecting canine teams.
-Clarifies the provisions for release of CLEET records.
-Extends the requirement to pass the comprehensive reading and writing examination to Reserve Officers.

CLEET Rule changes for 2015 – Peace Officers

Rule 390:10-1-3 requires that mandated law enforcement agency address information must be submitted in a format
acceptable to CLEET

Rule 390:10-1-5 – each person attending refresher training must fully participate and follow all CLEET rules and
policies

Rule 390:15-3-10 – COP’s program students who do not complete the curriculum and re-enter the COP’s program
must re-take and complete any course work that is more than five (5) years old.

Rule 390:15-5-2 clarifies that a ReserveOfficer wishing to attend the ‘bridge academy’must have completed the 240
hour reserve academy.

Rule 390:20-1-6 changes the dates for submission of Reserve Academy information to CLEET – the schedule, and
the list of instructors and their qualifications, is due 90 days prior to the start of the reserve academy

Rule 390:27-1-2 specifically includesCLEET ‘certified line safety officers’ as having authority to do annual firearms
re-qualification for Officers.

Rule 390:27-1-5 requires specific information in the Firearms Qualification Report, and requires Agency heads to
validate the credentials of the Agency-approved firearms instructor, when not using a CLEET certified firearms
instructor or CLEET certified line safety officer.
Rules390:30-1-5and390:31-1-6 restrictCLEETemployees fromparticipating in the trainingor testingofanycanine
team.

CLEET STATUTE & RULE CHANGES FOR 2015



Private Security and Private Investigators

Rule 390:35-1-3 changes the definition of ‘conviction’ to include an ‘Alford’ plea – clarifies that ‘conviction’ does
not include certain expunged cases, when specific requirements are met, and clarifies themeaning of ‘expungement’.

Rule 390:35-5-1 requires that renewal of an agency license that has been expired formore than three (3) years (instead
of 5 years) requires a ‘start over’ and completion of the entire application process.

Rule 390:35-5-2 prohibits issuance of a license while the applicant has pending criminal charges, or is serving a
deferred sentence.

Rule 390:35-7-3 clarifies that incomplete applicationswill not be processed. CLEET staff will not request nor gather
documents for the applicant, and will not give advice or advisory opinions as to whether a license will be granted or
denied until a complete application is received.

Rule 390:35-7-4 requires applicants to supply all names used, and provide information related to previous licenses
issued in any state.

Rule 390:35-9-4 requires that a verbal report of criminal and civil proceedings against the licensee must be followed
up by a written report within ten (10) days.

Rule 390:35-15-2 clarifies that instructors whose ‘training, education, teaching, or work experience’ allows them to
teach private security classes must have been active in that capacity within the last five years.

Bail Enforcers

Rule 390:60-1-3 clarifies that the prohibition on ‘red and blue lens’ on bail enforcer vehicles includes any device that
emits red or blue light when activated.

Rule 390:60-5-6 requires applicants to provide:
-all names used by the applicant, and the date of any name change
-information on previous licensing in any State, and any revocations or suspensions of such licenses.

Rule 390:60-13-2 requires that instructors in use of force be ‘certified as a defensive tactics
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