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Please keep in mind that this document is, by necessity, a summary.  If we were to copy 
all the new laws, this document would run to several thousand pages.  Even a detailed 
summary of every provision would be hundreds of pages long, and that is simply not 
feasible.  You are encouraged to read the complete laws, available at www.oscn.net.   
Click on ‘legal research’ and then click on ‘Oklahoma Statutes Citationized’.  You can get 
a complete history of each bill at the Oklahoma Legislature’s website:  
http://webserver1.lSB.state.ok.us/WebBillStatus/main.html.  

 
Title 2 - Agriculture 
 
HB 1359 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends several sections related to animal shelters, 
changing the ‘commercial Pet Breeders Act of 2012’ to the Commercial Pet Breeders and 
Animal Shelter Licensing Act’. 
 -2 O.S. § 302 defines ‘animal shelter’ as a ‘nongovernmental facility’ that maintains ten 
or more dogs and cats and is  ‘operated by or under contract’ with the state or a political 
subdivision, or by a private organization. 
 -4 O.S. § 30.3 is amended to give the State Board of Agriculture power to make and 
enforce rules related to Animal Shelters. 
 -4 O.S. § 30.4 requires a license to operate an Animal Shelter as defined in the Act. 
 -4 O.S. § 30.5 requires for initial inspections and yearly follow-up inspections by a 
veterinarian or other ‘qualified person’ who reports to the Department of Agriculture.  This 
statute specifically precludes the use of ‘any humane society group or member of any humane 
society group’ to perform any required inspections. 
 -4 O.S. § 30.14 requires the Board of Agriculture to post on  its website a directory of 
animal shelters (and commercial pet breeders’ and to post a list of shelters or breeders that 
 have been denied licensing, or whose licenses have been revoked. 
 
HB 1999 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 2 O.S. § 6-182 to include ‘horses, mules, or other 
equines’ in the definition of ‘meat food product’.   
 -Also amends 2 O.S. § 6-192 to make it unlawful to ‘sell, offer or exhibit for sale’ or to 
transfer to another person for those purposes) horsemeat for human consumption in Oklahoma.   
 

Title 3 and Title 3A – Aircraft and Amusements and Sports 
 
HB 1532 (EMERGENCY! - effective July 1, 2013) amends 3A O.S. § 724, as it concerns 
unclaimed lottery winnings (they are considered ‘unclaimed’ 180 days after the date of the 
drawing).  The first $750,000 of unclaimed prize money is to be transferred to DMH&SAS for 
the ‘treatment of compulsive gambling disorder’ and educational programs.  This is increased 
from $500,000. 
 
HB 1882 (Effective November 1, 2013) enacts a new law to be codified at 3 O.S. § 351 et seq., 
known as the ‘Space Flight Liability and Immunity Act’.  This bill limits the liability of a ‘space 
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flight entity’ to any space flight ‘participant’ and requires certain warnings of the dangers of 
blastoff, space flight, and re-entry.  

 
Title 10A – Children and Juvenile Code 

 
SB 679 (Effective November 1, 2013) makes several changes in Title 10A.  Those of interest to 
peace officers include: 
 -§ 1-4-904 – added to the list of reasons to terminate is ‘a finding that a child has been 
placed in foster care’ for 15 of the most recent 22 months. 
 -§ 2-1-102 – emphasizes use of ‘individualized treatment and best practice’ in juvenile 
delinquency proceedings. 
 -§ 2-1-103 – allows a ‘community intervention center’ to be  used for placement of 
children alleged to be ‘in need of supervision’ as defined by statute.  This section also clarifies 
that Shelters should be used for children or youth in a ‘crisis situation’ and for no more than 90 
days. 
 -§ 2-2-101 – adds a new situation to the list of when a child  may be taken into custody by 
a peace officer without a court order.  This may be done if ‘in the reasonable belief’ of the officer 
the ‘child appears to have run away from home without just cause’.  The statute further clarifies 
that this reasonable belief may be based on the child refusing to give his or her name or the 
name and address of a parent or when the officer has ‘reason to doubt that the name and 
address’ are accurate. 
 -§ 2-2-102 – for the court in a juvenile action to have jurisdiction over an adult, the adult 
must have appeared in court or have been properly served with summons. 
 -§ 2-2-503 – a child may be adjudicated as both delinquent  AND deprived if a sufficient 
factual basis exists. 

 
SB 1034 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 10A O.S. § 1-6-102 to add ‘CASA’ records to the 
list of juvenile records that cannot be released except under very specific circumstances. 

 
Title 11 – Cities and Towns 

 
HB 1402  (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 11 O.S. § 16-302.  Non-charter municipalities 
with a population of less than 2,000 may elect officers and consider initiatives and referendums 
at a ‘biennial town meeting or special town meeting’ OR may have such elections conducted by 
the County election board.  
 
HB 1921 (effective November 1, 2013) amends 11 O.S. § 55-103 to allow municipalities to 
regulate amateur radio antennae, so long as the ordinance ‘reasonably’ accommodates amateur 
radio communications, and is the ‘minimum practicable regulation necessary to accomplish the 
intent’ of this statute, and provides for an appeal procedure. 

 
HB 1904 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 11 O.S. § 29-203 to allow a municipality that has 
a volunteer fire department that serves a 911 area of fifty square miles or more to increase the 
size of the volunteer fire department by ‘up to an additional five members’ with the total 
number of members ‘not to exceed thirty’. 
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SB 197 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 11 O.S. 34-102 to clarify that the curriculum for 
the ‘Chief School’ is to be ‘developed by the Oklahoma Association of Chiefs of Police’ and 
approved by CLEET.  This Bill also provides that a municipal Police Chief who does not meet 
the Chief School ‘training requirements ‘shall have their CLEET certification revoked for the 
purpose of serving as chief’ in addition to being removed from the position of Chief. 

-Also enacts a new law to be codified at 11 O.S. § 34-107 which requires that municipal 
police department have adopted policies (by January 1, 2016) that cover, at a mimimum, the 
following topics: 
 -search and seizure 
 -arrest and alternatives to arrest 
 -strip and body cavity searches 
 -evidence and property management 
 -inventories and audits 
 -use of firearms and use of force 
 -pursuit driving 
 -impartial policing / racial profiling 
 -mental health 
 -professional conduct of officers 
 -domestic abuse 
 -response to missing persons 
 -supervision of part-time officers 

 
Title 12 – Civil procedure 

 
HB 1033 (effective November 1, 2013) enacts a new law to be codified at 12 O.S. § 20.  This law 
provides that any ‘court, arbitration, tribunal, or administrative agency ruling or decision’ is 
considered against public policy if it is based on a foreign law that does not ‘grant the parties 
affected’ the same ‘fundamental liberties, rights, and privileges’ of the U.S. and Oklahoma 
Constitutions.  A contractual provision which provides for use of a foreign law is ‘void and 
unenforceable’ if it does not provide those same protections.  This statute does not apply to any 
contract to which a ‘corporation’ or ‘other legal entity’ has legally agreed.  This act is not meant 
to conflict with any federal treaty or international agreement to which the U.S. is a party. 
 
HB 2072 (Effective November 1, 2013) enacts a new law to be codified at 12 O.S. § 718A.  A 
‘foreign defamation judgment’ (defined as an action fundamentally equivalent to libel or 
slander) from a foreign court may not be enforced unless the foreign judicial system provides 
procedures ‘substantially compatible’ with due process, and protection of speech and press, as 
in the U.S. System. 

 
HB 1509 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 12 O.S. § 2011 to allow the use of a statement of 
a ‘child 13 years of age or older who has a disability’ even though that statement is hearsay, if 
certain conditions are met.  ‘Disability’ is defined as a physical or mental impairment ‘which 
substantially limits one or more of the major life activities of the child’. 
 
SB 951 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 12 O.S. § 2502.  With this change the attorney-
client evidentiary privilege also applies to a person who makes or receives a ‘confidential 
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communication’ while acting in the scope of employment of the client ‘for the purpose of 
effectuating legal representation for the client’. 

 
Title 15 - Contracts 

 
SB 550 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 15 O.S. § 598.6 and related statutes (the ‘Unfair 
Sales Act’).  Under that Act, some listed items may be sold at less than wholesale cost in certain 
circumstances.  Added to that list of circumstances is where merchandise is sold ‘below cost’ for 
15 or fewer sequential days and where the sale does not occur more than 10 separate times in 
any twelve-month period.  The following items may not be sold at less than wholesale: 
 -gasoline and diesel fuel 
 -legend drug products 
 -food and nonalcoholic beverages sold for off-premise use or consumption 
 -household soaps and detergents 
 -health and beauty aids 
 -over-the-counter medicines, vitamins, and health products 
 -pet food and pet supplies 
 -paper and plastic goods 
 -household cleaning agents and cleaning supplies 
 -baby supplies related to nutrition and food preservation 
 -disposable diapers 
 -low-point beer sold for off-premises use or consumption 
 -structural building materials 

 
Title 19 – Counties and County Officers 
 
SB 285 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 19 O.S. § 215.22 to allow the destruction of certain 
District Attorney Records if the records are microfilmed or stored in computer form. 

-record related to a felony (except homicide) – 10 years from            the date of last 
action in the case. 

 -misdemeanor or traffic – five years 
 -juvenile – ten years  
 -civil – ten years 

 
Title 20 - Courts 

 
HB 1242 (effective November 1, 2013) enacts a new law to be codified at 20 O.S. § 129 to allow 
a ‘district judge, municipal judge, or retired district judge to carry a firearm ‘anywhere in the 
state’ for ‘personal protection’ if the judge has completed a course of firearms training which 
‘meets the minimum requirements for firearms training’ as set by CLEET. 
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Title 21 – Crimes and punishments 
 
SB 501 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 21 O.S.  1247 to remove the ‘smoking room’ 
provision for all ‘buildings and other properties, or portions thereof’ that are ‘owned or 
operated by this state’.  
 Also amends 63 O.S.  1-1527 to allow a city or town to ‘enact laws restricting smoking’.  
County or Municipal governments may prohibit ‘smoking in or on property owned or operated 
by the respective governing bodies’. 
 

HB 1524 (Effective November 1, 2013) repeals 21 O.S. § 955, which required railroad 
conductors and brakemen to arrest anyone who uses a confidence game (like ‘three-card 
monte’) to swindle others on a train. 
 
HB 1523 (Effective November 1, 2013) repeals 21 O.S. § 471, which applied a criminal penalty 
to violations of Oklahoma Constitution Article 9, Section 13.  That Constitutional provision 
prevents giving free railroad tickets to anyone, except for certain specified charitable reasons. 
 

HB 2161 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 21 O.S. § 566.1.  When a person is in indirect 
contempt for failing to pay child support as ordered, and the court finds that the person is 
‘willfully unemployed’, the court may require that the person work 2 eight-hour days per week 
in a community service program. 
 
SB 89 (EMERGENCY! - Effective July 1, 2013) amends 21 O.S. § 1761.1 to increase the 
maximum amount of a fine for littering from $200 to $400. 
 
HB 1423 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 21 O.S. § 455 to provide that anyone who 
‘attempts to prevent’ any person from testifying or ‘producing any record, document, or other 
object’ is subject to a penalty of 1 to 10 years. 
 
HB 1622 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 21 O.S. § 1277 (‘unlawful carry in certain 
places’).  The prohibition of carrying a firearm into meetings of ‘city, town, county, state, or 
federal officials, school board members, legislative members’ or other officials is removed.   
 -This Bill also provides that a concealed or unconcealed weapon may be carried onto 
‘private school property or in any school bus’ or similar vehicle by a ‘person who is licensed’ 
under SDA IF the private school has adopted such a policy.  Protection is provided for the 
private school except for gross negligence or ‘willful or wanton misconduct’ or workers comp. 
claims. 
 -Amends 21 O.S. § 1280.1 (‘possession of firearm on school property’) to make the same 
change. 
 
SB 1036 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 21 O.S. § 701.10, and enacts a new law to be 
codified at 21 O.S. § 701.10-1 which concern sentencing in cases of murder first degree.  When 
the State seeks the death penalty the court is to conduct a separate ‘sentencing proceeding’ to 
determine if the proper sentence should be death, life without parole, or life imprisonment.  If 
the State is not seeking the death penalty, the court is to have a separate sentencing proceeding 
to give the State an opportunity to prove any prior felony convictions beyond a reasonable 
doubt. 
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HB 1067 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 21 O.S. § 748.2 and § 1029 regarding human 
trafficking.  Any peace officer who comes in contact with a ‘human trafficking victim’ shall 
inform the victim of the hotline number and give the victim a written notice of the victim’s 
rights.  The peace officer is also to ‘immediately notify’ DHS and the child is to be remanded to 
the custody of DHS for no longer than 72 hours.  In addition, in a prosecution for prostitution 
(or similar crimes) a person 16 or 17 years old shall be ‘presumed’ to have been ‘coerced’ to 
have committed the crime by a human trafficker.   
 
HB 1297 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 21 O.S. § 1123 to modify the possible 
punishment for ‘lewd and indecent proposals or acts’ to children under 16.  A second or 
subsequent violation is subject to punishment for a specific term of years unless 21 O.S. § 51.1a 
applies.  Under Section 51.1a , a conviction after being previously convicted of ‘rape in the first 
degree, forcible sodomy, lewd molestation, or sexual abuse of a child’ is punishable by ‘life 
without parole’. 
 
HB 1243 (effective November 1, 2013) amends 21 O.S. 1270 to change ‘concealed handgun 
license’ to ‘handgun license’.  (This is one the legislature missed last year.)   

Amends 21 O.S. § 1290.11 to provide that a person on a  ‘deferred sentence’  for 
specified crimes shall be precluded from obtaining a handgun license while on the deferred 
sentence and for three years after the ‘final determination’ of the criminal case.   
 
HB 2170 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 21 O.S. § 1272 to remove ‘spring type knife’ 
from the list of prohibited weapons. 
 
SB 173 (effective November 1, 2013) amends several sections  related to unconcealed carry. 
 Amends 21 O.S. § 1289.23 to allow an off-duty police officer or reserve police officer to 
carry a firearm concealed or unconcealed (if within the guidelines established by the employing 
agency). 
 Amends 21 O.S. § 1290.2 to require that an unconcealed handgun be in a ‘belt holster’ 
(as opposed to a ‘belt’ in the 2012 version of this statute) and changes the definition of 
‘concealed handgun’ to read: ‘means a loaded or unloaded pistol the presence of which is not 
openly discernible to the ordinary observation of a reasonable person’. 
 Amends 21 O.S. 1290.7 to remove ‘intentionally display the pistol’ from the list of 
prohibited acts. 
 Amends 21 O.S. § 1290.8 to remove the administrative fine from the punishments for 
failure to have the handgun license in possession.  (Is to be considered unlawful carry under § 

1272.) 
 Amends 21 O.S. § 1290.12 (‘procedure for application’) to provide that a ‘person who 
has been granted a permanent victim’s protective order’ may be issued a ‘temporary handgun 
license’ which is valid for no more than 6 months.  The applicant must have ‘passed the 
required weapons course, completed the application process of the person by the sheriff and 
court clerk, and provided the sheriff proof of a certified permanent victim protection order’ and 
valid Oklahoma photo I.D. 
 The sheriff issues the temporary handgun license at no cost; to the applicant (on a form 
approved by OSBI).  The person must have the temporary handgun license and I.D. on their 
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person whenever armed.  If the VPO is ‘no longer enforceable’ the temporary handgun license 
‘shall cease to be valid’. 
 Amends 21 O.S. § 1290.22 (‘Business Owner’s Rights’) to specifically include a ‘place of 
worship’.  This amendment also requires the business owner to ‘post signs on or about the 
property’ stating the prohibition against firearms if the business is ‘open to the public’.   

Violation ‘shall not be deemed a criminal act’ but the person carrying the weapon may 
be ‘denied entrance’ or ‘removed from the property’.  If the person refuses to leave and a peace 
officer is summoned, the person may be ‘issued a citation’ for up to $250.00.   

A business which ‘does or does not prohibit any individual except a convicted felon’ 
from possessing a firearm on the premises is ‘immune from any liability arising from that 
decision’, except for acts of gross negligence or willful or wanton misconduct.   

An employer who does or does not prohibit employees from carrying a firearm is also 
immune from liability, other than Workers Compensation claims. 
 
HB 1314  (effective November 1, 2013) amends 21 O.S. § 1290.14 to allow the instructor to 
determine the charge for a SDA firearms safety and training course.   The maximum class size is 
also determined by the instructor but ‘practice shooting sessions’ are limited to 10 persons at 
one time.   
 
HB 1462 (effective November 1, 2013) amends 21 O.S. § 1290.14 and  21 O.S. § 1290.15 to 
provide that a ‘firearms instructor’ is not required to submit fingerprints ‘when renewing’ a 
firearms instructor’s CLEET approval.  The cost of the SDA ‘training and qualification course’ is 
determined by the instructor or entity conducting the course, as is the cost of the ‘classroom 
portion of the training course’.  This amendment allows a firearms instructor to obtain a 
registration certificate for five years ($100.00) or for ten years ($200.00). 
 
SB 977 (EMERGENCY! - effective immediately) repeals several duplicate sections, cleans up 
some language, and amends others.  One of interest is: 
 -21 O.S. § 1290.26, which concerns reciprocity for out of state firearms permits,  is 
amended to provide that a person who is authorized by another state to carry a concealed or 
unconcealed firearm in that state, is authorized to carry concealed or unconcealed in this state.  
The amendment also  clarifies that the person must provide proper identification to show that 
the person is a resident in the other state. 
 
HB 1871 (effective November 1, 2013) amends 21 O.S. § 99, the  definition of ‘peace officer’.  
Any law enforcement officer whose duty is to ‘enforce and preserve the public peace’ is a ‘peace 
officer’.  This definition now includes a ‘tribal law enforcement officer’.  In addition, any U.S. 
Marshal, Marshals Service deputy or ‘other federal law enforcement officer’ who is ‘acting 
under the authority of a Federal Bureau of Indian Affairs Commission and has been certified’ 
by CLEET may render assistance to any law enforcement officer ‘in an emergency, or at the 
request of any officer’ and further has authority to ‘arrest any person committing any offense in 
violation of the laws of this state’. 
 Also amends 21 O.S. § 99a to allow a ‘Bureau of Indian Affairs law enforcement officer’ 
or a ‘tribal law enforcement officer of a federally recognized Indian tribe’, if ‘commissioned by 
the Federal Bureau of Indian Affairs’ and ‘certified’ by CLEET to have ‘state police powers to 
enforce state laws’ if the location of the crime is ‘held by the United States in trust’.  This bill is 
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not intended to ‘limit or prohibit jurisdiction’ of tribal officers pursuant to a cross-deputization 
agreement between a state or local governmental agency or another state or federal law’. 
 
HB 1241 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 21 O.S. § 1401 to provide that Arson First 
Degree includes ‘manufacturing, attempting to manufacture or endeavoring to manufacture’ 
CDS that results in the burning of any building ‘or contents thereof’ of an inhabited or occupied 
building.  Punishment is up to 35 years and a fine of up to $25,000. 
 
HB 1522 (Effective November 1, 2013) repeals 21 O.S. § 1763, which concerned ‘running 
recklessly any horse race in, along, on or across any public square, street, or alley’. 
 
SB 708 (EMERGENCY! - Effective July 1, 2013) enacts a new law to be codified at 21 O.S. § 
1791 which makes it a crime to ‘maliciously and knowingly’ cut or damage a fence ‘used for the 
production or containment’ of animals ‘such that there is a loss or damage to the property.  A 
first offense is a misdemeanor.  Second and subsequent offenses are felonies, punishable by up 
to 2 years and/or a fine up to $1,000.   This statute does not apply to activities pursuant to the 
Seismic Exploration Regulation Act, or actions governed by the Corporation Commission or 
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, or otherwise approved by Oklahoma law. 
 
HB 2045 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 21 O.S. § 1953 to permit a child’s ‘parent, legal 
guardian, legal custodian, or foster parent’ to monitor the child’s computer usage, or to deny 
computer access or internet access to the child. 
 

Title 22 – Criminal procedure 
 
HB 1912 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 22 O.S. § 60.2 and other statutes affecting 
Victim Protective Orders.   A court may not require a victim to ‘seek legal sanctions’ against the 
defendant such as ‘divorce, separation, paternity or criminal proceedings’ prior to hearing a 
petition for a VPO. 
 22 O.S. § 60.4 is amended to require that a hearing be scheduled within 14 days of the 
filing of the petition, shortened from 20 days.  Also, the court is prohibited from imposing any 
term or condition that ‘may compromise the safety of the victim’.  Examples include ‘mediation, 
couples counseling, family counseling, parenting classes or joint victim-offender counseling’.  
 22 O.S.§ 60.9 is amended to state that the peace officer ‘shall arrest’ under certain 
conditions outlined in the statute, instead of ‘may arrest’. 
 
HB 1449 and SB 450 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 22 O.S. § 1115.1a to allow a person 
to enter a plea for a traffic violation by electronic means, if offered by the court. 
 
HB 1068 (effective November 1, 2013) enacts a new law to be codified at 22 O.S. § 1273 et seq., 
to be called the ‘Postconviction DNA Act’.  Under this law,  a person ‘convicted of a violent 
felony crime’ or a person sentenced to 25 years or more and ‘who asserts that he or she did not 
commit such crime’ may file a motion for ‘forensic DNA testing’.  The sentencing court may 
order DNA testing if there is a ‘reasonable probability’ that the person would not have been 
convicted ‘if favorable results had been obtained through DNA testing at the time of the 
original prosecution’.  If the DNA testing results are ‘favorable to the petitioner’ the court may 
make necessary orders for a new trial or other actions as the court deems reasonable. 
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HB 1058 (effective November 1, 2013) enacts a new section of law to be codified at 22 O.S. 
Section 19c which allows the court, to enter an order for expungement of law enforcement and 
court records relating to a charge for a prostitution-related offense committed as a result of the 
defendant having been a victim of human trafficking. These expunged Records ‘shall be sealed’ 
to the public but not to law enforcement agencies for ‘law enforcement purposes’.  
 
HB 1328 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 22 O.S. 991C to clarify the rules for District 
Attorney supervision of people convicted of crimes. 

 
Title 25 – Definitions and General Provisions 

 
SB 88 (EMERGENCY! - Effective immediately) enacts a new law to be codified at 25 O.S. § 
98.16 proclaiming the fourth Saturday of July of each year the ‘National Day of the Cowboy’ to 
celebrate the ‘contribution of the Cowboy and Cowgirl to this state and all of America’s culture 
and heritage’.  You are encouraged to ‘recognize and celebrate’ with ‘appropriate ceremonies, 
events, and activities’. 

 
Title 26 - Elections 
 
HB 1741 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 26 O.S. § 5-111 A candidate for public office 
must supply the name of the candidate ‘as it shall appear on the ballot’ and the ‘legal name of 
the candidate’. 

 
Title 29 – Game and Fish 
 
SB 780 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 29 O.S. § 7-205 to remove ‘furbearers and coyotes’ 
from the prohibition from leaving body parts with the ‘intent to abandon the body’ and from 
the prohibition from ‘removing the claws, teeth, hide, antlers, or horns’ from  living wildlife.  
 
SB 819 (Effective November 1, 2013) enacts a new law to be codified at 29 O.S. § 5-203.2.  No 
person is allowed to use a ‘laser sighting device as a hunting aid’.  Violation is a misdemeanor.  
This law does not apply to persons who are ‘100% disabled’ or who are certified as being legally 
blind if on ‘private property’ and ‘accompanied by a licensed hunter’.  This bill does not 
prohibit the use of a ‘battery-powered scoping’ device that projects a ‘light or dot inside the 
scope’ and does not prevent a person from using a ‘.22 caliber rimfire rifle or pistol’ with a laser 
sight while hunting or taking furbearers with hounds during the legal, open furbearer season, 
with a valid license. 
 
SB 324 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 29 O.S. § 6-302 to add ‘blue and channel catfish’ 
to the list of fish which may be taken by ‘noodling’. 
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Title 37 – Intoxicating Liquors 
 
SB 1 (Effective November 1, 2013) enacts a new law to be codified at 37 O.S. § 8a (although 
the effect is to amend 37 O.S. § 8, public intoxication).  With this change, a peace officer ‘may 
not take a person into custody’ if the officer ‘reasonably believes’ that all of the following apply: 

1.  The officer has contact with the person because the person ‘requested emergency 
medical assistance’ for someone who ‘reasonably appeared to be in need of medical 
assistance due to alcohol consumption’ AND 

2. The person provided their full name and ‘any other relevant information requested’ 
AND 

3. The person remained at the scene with the person who required assistance AND 
4. The person ‘cooperated’ with EMT’s and Police 
A person may not ‘initiate or maintain’ and action against a peace officer based on the 

‘officer’s compliance or failure to comply with this section’. 
The obvious question:  ‘what is the officer to do with the person who requested 

emergency medical assistance?’ is not answered. 

 
HB 1341 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 37 O.S. § 2011.  A holder of a ‘brewer license’ 
may serve free samples of beer ‘produced by the licensee’ to visitors 21 years old or older.  The 
licensee must designate a sampling area (the floor plan  is to be sent to ABLE) and may not give 
anyone more than 12 ounces of beer per day.  Samples may be provided between ten a.m. and 
nine p.m. 

 
Title 38 - Jurors 
 
SB 484 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 38 O.S. § 28 to provide that a person who has 
served as a juror does not have to serve on a jury again for 5 years (the previous statute 
specified 2 years). 
 

Title 43A – Mental health 
 
HB 1109 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 43A O.S. § 3-704 to allow a person accused of a 
felony to submit to an ‘approved risk, mental health and substance assessment and evaluation’ 
after an initial appearance.  This assessment is not normally admissible at trial except for 
sentencing. 
 
SB 369 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 43A O.S. § 5-414 and related statutes concerning 
records of persons requiring mental health treatment.  With these changes: 
 -powers of attorney and advanced health care directives may be used in an evaluation 
and are to accompany the person to the place of evaluation. 
 -the person’s ‘treatment advocate’ is entitled to review records of mental health 
proceedings. 
 
SB 725 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 43A O.S.  1-103 to include a ‘licensed drug and 
alcohol counselor / mental health (‘LADC/MH’) on the list of persons who may perform an 
evaluation of a person requiring treatment. 
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 Also amends 43A O.S. § 1-109 to change the statutory privilege from ‘psychotherapist’ 
to ‘licensed mental health professional’. 

 
Title 47 – Motor vehicles 

 
HB 2198 (Effective November 1, 2013) enacts a new law to be codified at 47 O.S. § 6-102.1.  
Any person who has an ‘agricultural exemption permit’ may, ‘while in the course of an 
agricultural or ranching operation owned by the person’ may operate a ‘Class A, B, or C 
commercial motor vehicle’ if the person has any valid Oklahoma driver license.  This does not 
apply to operation of any vehicle used to transport property ‘for hire’. 
 
HB 1082 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends the drivers license rules in 47 O.S. § 6-115.  A 
drivers license is NOT the property of the licensed driver and it ‘shall be the duty of every 
person’ who has had the driving privilege ‘suspended, canceled, or revoked’ to ‘immediately 
surrender’ the license upon request to any peace officer.  If the driving privilege is re-instated 
the driver must apply for a new license.  A license that is not more than one year past the date 
of expiration (instead of 30 days under the current law) is presumed to be a valid form of 
identification for the purposes or renewing a license. 
 
HB 1792 (Effective November 1, 2013) enacts some new laws and amends other laws related 
to uninsured motorists.  This is a comprehensive scheme and much of it is devoted to 
administrative procedures.  The part that affects peace officer duties is in an Amendment of 47 

O.S. § 7-606:  When an Officer makes a traffic stop of a vehicle ‘owner or operator’ who fails ‘to 
comply with the Compulsory Insurance Law’ or who fails ‘to produce a valid and current 
security verification form or equivalent’, the Officer issues a citation for the violation.  The 
Officer may now (in addition to the existing authority to seize the vehicle) 

-seize the license plate (if the vehicle is drivable).  A copy of the citation serves as the 
‘temporary license plate’ for up to 10 days.  After 10 days, the vehicle ‘shall not be used’ 
until  all the requirements are met. 
-within 3 days of seizure, the law enforcement agency that  issued the citation shall 
‘deposit the license plate’ with, and  give a copy of the citation to, the Sheriff of the 
County where  the violation occurred. 
-the vehicle owner or operator may retrieve the license plate upon ‘providing 
verification of compliance with the  Compulsory Insurance Law and payment ‘in full’ 
of an administrative fee of $125 to the Sheriff, and payment in full of the citation. 
-The $125 administrative fee is transferred to the ‘Plan Administrator’.  The funds are to 
be distributed as follows: 

  -$20 to the Sheriff 
  -$70 to the law enforcement agency which issued the citation (to be used for ‘any  
  lawful purpose’). 
  -$25 to the Temporary Insurance Premium Pool 
  -$10 to the Plan Administrator 
 -The Sheriff may dispose of any unclaimed license plate after 90 days. 
 -if the operator produces what appears to be a valid security verification form and the 
officer is ‘unable to confirm’, the officer shall not seize the license plate. 
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 -a new law at 47 O.S. § 7-621 et seq, provides the  administrative scheme for this 
‘minimum vehicle liability insurance coverage’ when a citation is issued and a license plate 
seized. 
Please note:  As of November 26, 2013, CLEET has been informed that the Oklahoma Insurance 
Department and the Oklahoma Sheriff’s Association have ‘agreed that law enforcement should 
commence seizing tags no sooner than January 1’, 2014 

 
SB 652 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 47 O.S.   6-101 to permit a person 18 years of age 
or older to obtain a ‘commercial learner permit’.  With this ‘commercial learner permit’ and a 
‘valid Oklahoma driver license’ the person may operate a Class A, B, or C commercial motor 
vehicle for the purpose of training.  This permit is good for 180 days and may be renewed once. 
 
HB 1247 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 47 O.S. § 954A to limit towing of ‘abandoned 
vehicles’ (as defined in the statute) to ‘licensed Class AA’ wreckers or towing services.   
 

SB 886 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 47 O.S. § 955 in several ways: 
 -wrecker operators are to release personal property within  the vehicle to the owner of 
the vehicle or to an insurer who ‘has accepted liability for the vehicle’. 
 -A vehicle may be impounded from ‘public roads, highways,  streets, turnpikes, 
private parking lots accessible to the  public, other public places or upon any private road, 
street,  alley, or lane which provides access to one or more’ dwellings if other conditions are 
met, including the ‘vehicle  is involved in a fatal’ collision and is needed for evidence. 
 -no vehicle may be released from impoundment unless the owner provides proof of 
valid insurance or an affidavit of nonuse’ unless it is released to an insurer 
 
HB 1098 (Effective November 1, 2013)  amends 47 O.S. § 11-1116 to allow the use of a ‘golf cart’ 
or a ‘utility vehicle’ on city streets (even during ‘non-daylight’ hours) if the municipality has 
adopted an ordinance which allows their use and includes ‘necessary vehicle lighting and safety 
requirements’. 
 -Also amends 47 O.S. § 11-1116 to allow the use of ‘all-terrain vehicles’ on roadways in 
an unincorporated area if the county commissioners have approved their use and the vehicle is 
‘only used as an instrument of huSBandry’. 
 
HB 1069 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 47 O.S. § 11-902  and 43 O.S. § 3-452 to provide 
that the costs of an alcohol and drug substance course or treatment ordered by the court, as a 
result of a DUI or APC may be paid by the defendant or a third party, so long as ‘no state-
appropriated funds are utilized’. 
 
HB 1441 (Effective October 1, 2013)  amends 47 O.S. § 11-902 to include in the definition of DUI 
and APC a person who ‘has any amount of a Schedule I chemical or controlled substance’ in the 
person’s ‘bodily fluid’ at the time of a test administered ‘within 2 hours after the arrest’ of the 
person. 
 
SB 164 (Effective November 1, 2013) enacts a new law to be codified at 47 O.S. § 1104.23 and 
amends 47 O.S. § 1135.2 to authorize several new license plates.  The new ones are: 
 -Oklahoma Association of Chiefs of Police 
 -Gold Star Surviving Spouse 
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 -Legion of Merit Medal Recipient 
 -Sigma Gamma Rho 
 -BMW Car Club of America (you no longer have to be a member of the BMW Car Club, 
 you can simply be a ‘person wishing to demonstrate support for’ the Club). 
 -Oklahomans for the Arts 
 -Oklahoma City Barons 
 -Oklahoma City Redhawks 
 -Tulsa Shock 
 -Tulsa Oilers 
 -Tulsa Drillers 
 -Millwood School District 
 -Booker T. Washington High School 
 -Oklahoma Current State Flag 
 -Oklahoma original State Flag 
 -Tulsa 66ers 
 -Crossings Christian School 

 
Title 51 - Officers 
 
HB 1594 (EMERGENCY! - Effective immediately) amends 51 O.S. 6 (dual offices) to provide 
that a ‘game warden or reserve game warden employed by the Department of Wildlife 
Conservation’ may be appointed to a municipal governing body.  
 
SB 977 (EMERGENCY - effective immediately) amends 51 O.S. § 155 (The Governmental Tort 
Claims Act) to preclude tort liability for ‘use of a public facility opened to the general public 
during an emergency’. 

 
Title 56 – Poor Persons 
 
HB 1418 (EMERGENCY! - effective immediately) enacts a new law to be codified at 56 O.S. § 
163.2 et seq., to be known as the ‘Josephine Meade Anti-Hunger Act.  This new law allows DHS 
to promulgate rules to authorize ‘patrons of senior nutrition project sites to take home leftover 
food’.  Also allows the State Department of Education to develop policies to ‘prevent food 
waste’ in school cafeterias and to redistribute ‘leftover foods to students in need’. 
 
SB 667 (EMERGENCY! - Effective July 1, 2013) enacts a new law to be codified at 56 O.S.  
241.4.  This prohibits the use of ‘debit or electronic benefit transfer cards’ from state or federal 
programs (like ‘TANF’) from being used in any transaction in: 
 -liquor stores 
 -casino’s or gaming establishments 
 -‘adult-oriented’ establishments in which performers  ‘disrobe or  perform in an 
unclothed state for entertainment’ 
 -smoke shops.    
 -Also amends 76 O.S. § 5.6 to require certain information on ‘options for safe food 
donation’ on the DHS website. 
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HB 1909 (Effective September 1, 2013) amends 56 O.S. § 241.3, which concerns work 
requirements for recipients of food stamps.  The current statute allows DHS to waive the work 
requirements under circumstances.  With this amendment, DHS may NOT waive the work 
requirements to provide supplemental nutrition Assistance Program services to ‘able-bodied 
adults without dependents’. 

 
Title 57 – Prisons and Reformatories 
 
SB 977 (EMERGENCY! - effective immediately) repeals several duplicate sections, cleans up 
some language, and amends others.  One of interest is: 
 -57 O.S. § 549.1 is amended to allow the Department of  Corrections to ‘accept and 
process’ agricultural products from ‘the public’ and may export the products to foreign 
markets. 

 
Title 59 – Professions and occupations 
 
HB 1413 (effective November 1, 2013) amends 59 O.S. § 1750.5 to allow a properly license 
private investigator to carry a firearm concealed or unconcealed.   
 
SB 1013 (Effective November 1, 2013) enacts some new laws and amends others to enact the 
‘Bail Enforcement and Licensing Act’.  Highlights include:    
 -Definitions:  

-"Armed bail enforcer" means a bail enforcer having a valid license issued by CLEET 
authorizing the holder to carry an approved pistol or weapon in the recovery of a 
defendant;  
-"Bail enforcer" means a person who acts, engages in, solicits or offers services to:  

  a. execute a prior to breach recovery of a defendant, or  
  b. execute a recovery of a defendant for failure to appear on an undertaking or  
  bail bond contract.  

-The term "bail enforcer" does not include any law enforcement officer actively 
employed while such officer is engaged in the lawful performance of his or her duties, a 
bondsman licensed in this state and acting under the authority of his or her undertaking 
or bail contract or a licensed bondsman appointed  with regard to a defendant on a bond 
posted by that insurer;  
-"Bail recovery contract" or "client contract" means an agreement to perform the services 
of a bail enforcer for a client. A bail enforcer is liable for his or her acts while executing a 
recovery of a defendant;  
-"Client" means a bondsman or surety on an undertaking or bail bond contract issued in 
this state, another state or the United States that enters into a contract for the services of 
a bail enforcer;  
-"Weapon" means taser, stun gun, baton, night stick or any other device used to subdue 
a defendant, or any noxious  substances as defined in paragraph 10 of this subsection;  
-"Noxious substance" means OC spray, pepper spray, mace or any substance used as a 
physiological irritant.  

 -A new law at Section 1350.2 of Title 59, reads as follows:  
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A. On and after July 1, 2014, no person shall act, or offer services, or represent himself or herself, 
as a bail enforcer without first having been issued a valid license by CLEET.  Punishment is 
a fine of up to $10,000.00 and/or up to 3 years.  

-Violating these provisions while carrying any firearm or weapon, including under the 
authority of the SDA, may be punished,  by an additional fine in an amount of up to $5,000.00, 
and/or an additional term of imprisonment up to 3 years  
 -A new law to be codified at Section 1350.3 of Title 59, prohibits certain persons from 
being licensed as a bail enforcer.  

-persons prohibited from being a bail bondsman 
-A district attorney, or any employee of a district attorney 
-Any employee of the Department of Corrections.  

 -A new law at Section 1350.5 of Title 59, concerns use of force by a bail enforcer.  The 
use of force is prohibited when unnecessarily committed or when the force is excessive or 
unreasonable in manner, degree or duration.  Every bail enforcer is to be trained on the use of 
force continuum and the rules for use of force.  Any force shall be only that reasonably 
necessary to surrender the defendant.  
 -A new law to be codified at Section 1350.6 of Title 59, provides that it is unlawful for a 
bail enforcer to break into and enter the dwelling house of any defendant or third-party either:  

1. By forcibly bursting or breaking the wall, or an outer door, window, or shutter of a 
window or the lock or bolts of such door, or the fastening of such window or shutter;  
2. By breaking in any other manner, being armed with a weapon or being assisted or 
aided by one or more persons then actually present; or  
3. By unlocking an outer door by means of false keys or by picking the lock thereof, or 
by lifting a latch or opening a window.  
-A person violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of burglary in the first 

degree.  However, the penalty does not apply during an active attempt at recovery of a felony 
defendant under the following conditions:  

a. the bail enforcer has first-hand or eyes-on knowledge that the defendant entered the 
dwelling house during an attempt to recover the defendant and the defendant after 
reasonable request is refusing to surrender,  
b. the bail enforcer has first-hand or eyes-on knowledge that the defendant is actually 
within the dwelling house and after reasonable request is refusing to surrender, or  
c. the bail enforcer has obtained knowledge confirming beyond a reasonable doubt that 
the defendant is actually within the dwelling house and after reasonable request refuses 
to surrender.  

 -A new law to be codified at Section 1350.7 of Title 59 grants CLEET the following 
powers: 

-To promulgate rules and forms to implement, enforce and carry out the purposes of the 
Bail Enforcement and Licensing Act;  

-To establish and enforce standards governing the training of persons;  
-To establish minimum requirements for a mandatory continuing education program.  

The expense is to be paid by the licensee;  
-To grant a waiver of any training requirement, except firearms  and weapons training  
-To grant an applicant credit for comparable training at the  Council’s discretion;  
-To issue licenses and identification cards;  
-To investigate alleged violations the Act, or rules, and to deny, suspend, or revoke 

licenses and identification cards if necessary, or to issue notices of reprimand;  
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-To provide all forms;  
-To require additional testing.  
A new law to be codified at  Section 1350.8 of Title 59, to require that each applicant be 

administered the MMPI, in conjunction with training in Phase I.  The applicant is to pay the 
cost. 

A new law to be codified at Section 1350.9 of Title 59, sets the qualifications: 
1. Be a citizen of the United States or an alien legally residing in the United States and  

document a minimum of 6 months legal residence in this state;  
2. At least twenty-one (21) years of age;  
3. Have a high school diploma or GED;  
4. Be of good moral character;  
5. Have no final victim protection orders as a defendant;  
6. Have no record of a felony conviction  unless at least 15 years has passed. No 

person convicted of a felony offense shall be eligible for an armed bail enforcer license;  
7. Have no record of conviction for assault or battery, aggravated assault or battery, 

larceny, theft, false pretense, fraud, embezzlement, false personation of an officer, any offense 
involving moral turpitude, any offense involving a minor as a victim, any nonconsensual sex 
offense, any offense involving the possession, use, distribution, or sale of a controlled 
dangerous substance, any offense of driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence of 
intoxicating substance, any offense involving a firearm, or any other offense as prescribed by 
the Council.  

8. Make a statement that the applicant is not currently undergoing treatment for a 
mental illness, condition, or disorder, and make a statement regarding any history of illegal 
drug use or alcohol abuse.  

9. Make a statement regarding any misdemeanor domestic violence charges;  
10. Provide proof of liability insurance or an individual bond; and  
11. Provide a statement of self-employment as a sole proprietor bail enforcer.  
In addition, a bail enforcer must maintain a physical address and published phone 

number.  The bail enforcer must maintain complete records, and make the records available to 
CLEET at any time during regular business hours.  

A new law to be codified at Section 1350.11 of Title 59, lists the reasons a license may 
be subject to disciplinary action:  

1. Any erroneous or false statement in an application;  
2. Failure to successfully complete any  training;  
3. Violation of any provision of the Bail Enforcement and Licensing Act or any rule;  
4. A conviction for assault or battery, aggravated assault or battery, larceny, theft, false 

pretense, fraud, embezzlement, false personation of an officer, any offense involving moral 
turpitude, any offense involving a minor as a victim, any nonconsensual sex offense, any 
offense involving the possession, use, distribution, or sale of a controlled dangerous substance, 
any offense of driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence of intoxicating 
substance, any offense involving a firearm, or any other offense as proscribed by the Council;  

5. Use of beverages containing alcohol while armed;  
6. Knowingly impersonating a law enforcement officer;  
7. Improper use of force pursuant to the Act;  
8. Failure to carry and possess proper license, identification or documents;  
9. Improper apparel or vehicle;  
10. Improper carry, display or use of a firearm, weapon or noxious substance;  
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11. Unlawful entry into a dwelling house, structure, property or vehicle or improper 
detention of any person;  

12. Employing, authorizing, or permitting an unlicensed person to perform or engage in 
services as a bail enforcer; or  

13. Permitting a person to perform or engage in services as a bail enforcer knowing the 
person has committed any offense prohibited by the Bail Enforcement and Licensing Act.  

A new law to be codified at Section 1350.12 of Title 59, makes it unlawful for any 
person to mark any vehicle, wear any apparel, or display any badge or identification card 
bearing the words "police", "deputy", "detective", "officer", "agent", "investigator", "fugitive 
agent", "recovery agent", "enforcement officer", "bounty hunter", "bail agent", or "recovery 
detective" or use any other words that imply the person is associated with law enforcement.  

A new law to be codified at Section 1350.13 of Title 59 sets out other prohibited acts:  
No person licensed as a bail enforcer shall:  

1. Invade the privacy of a defendant without lawful authority or divulge any 
information gained by him or her in the course of employment except as permitted by law;  

2. Willfully make a false report;  
3. Attempt any location, recovery or surrender without having in his or her possession a 

written client contract;  
4. Attempt any location, recovery or surrender without having in his or her possession a 

certified copy of the undertaking or bail bond contract;  
5. Wear any apparel, badges, shields, ballistic vest or helmet during the recovery of a 

defendant unless such item is clearly marked "Bail Enforcer";  
6. Carry any firearm or weapon in the recovery of a defendant without a valid armed 

bail enforcer license, or carry any firearm or weapon when wearing bail enforcer apparel and 
not actively engaged in the recovery of a defendant;  

7. Point, display or discharge a firearm or weapon or administer a noxious substance in 
the recovery of a defendant without lawful authority and training;  

8. Wear any uniform or use any title, insignia, badge or identification card or make any 
statements that would lead a person to believe that he or she is connected in any way with the  
government, or law enforcement agency;  

9. Unlawfully enter into the dwelling house, structure, property or vehicle of a 
defendant or third party;  

10. Improperly use force against a defendant or third party;  
11. Disobey any law, including traffic laws, in attempting to locate, recover or surrender 

a defendant;  
12. Use a fictitious name in the recovery of a defendant;  
13. Use any vehicle that resembles the markings or equipment of an authorized law 

enforcement agency, or that imply that the vehicle is a law enforcement vehicle  
A new law to be codified at Section 1350.16 of Title 59, concerns badges and markings.  

The words "Bail Enforcer" shall be displayed in bold letters on all clothing and such words 
together with the person's license number shall be on the badge, which shall be visibly 
displayed during the recovery of a defendant. Vehicles used, if marked, must bear the words 
"Bail Enforcer".  The vehicle may not be equipped with a siren, a lamp with a red or blue lens, or 
an overhead light or lights with red or blue lens.  

-Amends 59 O.S. Section 1328, to require that a bail enforcer  desiring to surrender the 
defendant shall deliver a certified copy of the undertakings to the official in whose custody the 
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defendant was at the time bail was taken, who shall detain the defendant in his or her custody 
and acknowledge the surrender in writing.  

 
Title 63 – Public Health and Safety 

 
SB 258 (EMERGENCY! - effective July 1, 2013) amends 63 O.S. § 681 to require local schools to 
give copies of their ‘written plans and procedures’ for protecting students during emergencies 
to local police, sheriffs, fire, and emergency medical services.  This is to be done by November 1 
of each year. 
 
SB 587 (Effective November 1, 2013)  enacts a new law to be codified at 63 O.S.  1-1953.1 et 
seq. to allow electronic monitoring in nursing facilities.  An electronic monitoring device may be 
used in common areas and rooms, but use in rooms is not ‘compulsory ‘and may only be 
conducted with the written consent of the resident or the resident’s representative.   

A nursing facility may not refuse ‘admit an individual to residency’ or ‘remove a 
resident’ because of authorized monitoring of a room.  Hampering or interception of 
communications of such devices may not be done without written consent.   

The resident who seeks to use the monitoring device must give notice to the nursing 
facility and must have the consent of any other resident in the same room. 
 
HB 1782 (Effective November 1, 2013) enacts a new law to be codified at 63 O.S. § 1-2506-1 et 
seq.  This allows ‘first responders’ to administer, without prescription, ‘opiate antagonists’ 
when encountering a person ‘exhibiting signs of an opiate overdose.  For purposes of this Act 
‘First Responder’ includes 
 -law enforcement officials 
 -emergency medical technicians 
 -firefighters 
 -medical personnel at secondary schools and institutions of  higher  education 
 
HB 1361 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 63 O.S. § 1-740.2 to clarify who is entitled to 
parental notification of an abortion and the identification required.  This amendment also 
provides that the court in the county in which the pregnant female resides has jurisdiction. 
 
HB 1614 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 63 O.S. § 1-319, which concerns disinterment.  
An application for disinterment must now include proof of notice to the owner of the burial 
space (if other than the applicant) and proof of notice to all surviving adult children of the 
decedent, if other than the applicant. 
 
HB 1094 (Effective November 1, 2013) enacts a new law to be codified at 63 O.S. § 1-1440 et 
seq.  This law, known as the “Home Bakery Act of 2013) provides that a person operating a 
‘home food establishment’ does not have to meet the licensing requirements of the State Health 
Department.  A ‘home food establishment’ may not have gross sales in excess of $20,000 per 
year and its ‘prepared food’ may not contain meat products or fresh fruit.  The preparer must 
affix a label with information on the preparer and the statement ‘Made in a home food 
establishment that is not licensed by the State Department of Health’.  Violation is punishable 
by a fine of up to $100.  The Health Department is allowed to request documents to show 
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compliance with the provisions of the law, and the law is not intended to affect the ability of 
counties to enact ordinances which do not conflict with the Act. 
 
 
HB 1508 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 63 O.S. § 2-103.1 to expand the ability of 
OBNDD to issue subpoena’s in investigations of ‘money laundering and human trafficking’ in 
addition to the already existing authority to issue such subpoena’s in investigations of 
controlled dangerous substances. 

 
Title 65 – Public Libraries 
 
HB 1511 (EMERGENCY! - effective immediately) amends 65 O.S. § 1-105 to further limit 
access to records of a library ‘supported by public funds’.  Any such records concerning minors 
may only be released to persons within the scope of their duties in the administration of the 
library; persons authorized in writing by the individual to inspect these records; and by order of 
a court.  Any ‘suspicious requests for records of minors that may be indicative of criminal 
intent’ shall be reported to law enforcement. 

 
Title 68 – Revenue and Taxation 
 
SB 64 (effective November 1, 2013) enacts a new law to be codified at 68 O.S. § 1624.1.  It is 
unlawful to sell, distribute, ignite, or ‘otherwise use’ a device known as an ‘aerial luminary’, 
which is defined as a ‘paper lantern containing a small candle, or  other device for fuel, that 
heats air from inside the lantern causing the lantern to rise into the air and remain airborne until 
the candle or other device extinguishes’.  Violation is punishable under 68 O.S. § 1628 by up to 
90 days in jail and/or fine of up to $1,000.  The Act is enforceable by fire marshals, sheriffs, or 
police. 
 
SB 66 (EMERGENCY! - Effective immediately) amends 68 O.S. § 1623 to allow a ‘local 
governing authority’ to inspect fireworks stands. 

 
Title 69 – Roads, Bridges, and Ferries 
 
HB 1759 (Effective November 1, 2013) enacts several new laws containing bridge and road 
dedications.  Those being honored include: 
 - Maestro Kenneth Kilgore 
 -LCpl Hatak-Yuka-Keyu Martin Yearby USMC 
 -Wayne Crusoe 
 -Director Steven Stokes 
 -Milton Irwin 
 -Senator Ed Berrong 
 -the Great Western Cattle Trail 
 -Sergeant Bret Daniel Isenhower 
 -Larry Tomlinson 
 -Phil Tomlinson 
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 -WWI Choctaw Code Talkers 
 -Specialist Joshua M. ‘Bubba’ Seals 
 -PFC Albert E. Schwab 
 -Rev. W.T. ‘Tommy’ Roberts 
 -Mayor Jon Gumerson 
 -Bobby D. ‘Dirt Dobber’ Smith 
 -Ret. Air Force Major General Albert Lee Logan 
 -Veterans 
 -Cost of Freedom 
 -Coach Rick Gandy 
 -Tribal Officer Defford Thomas Oyebi, Jr. 
 -Edna Hennessee 
 -Colonel Aaron C. Burley 
This bill also repeals 69 O.S. 1673, which named the Teddy Lehman Expressway. 
 

Title 70 - Schools 
 
SB 244 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 70 O.S. § 5-142, concerning background checks on 
school personnel.  With these changes a teacher or substitute teacher applicant is not required to 
have a record check if the teacher produces a copy of a ‘national criminal history record check’ 
completed within the last five years and a letter from the former employer stating that the 
teacher left in ‘good standing’. 
 
HB 1661 (Effective November 1, 2013) makes several changes related to bullying in 
elementary and secondary schools, as part of the re-named ‘School Safety and Bullying 
Prevention Act’.   
 -70 O.S. § 24-100.3 is amended to re-define ‘bullying’ as ‘any  pattern of 
harassment, intimidation, threatening behavior,  physical acts, verbal or electronic 
communication’ that is  directed toward a student or group that is ‘reasonably 
 perceived’ as being done to ‘cause negative educational or  physical results for the 
targeted individual or group’ and is  ‘communicated’ so as to ‘disrupt or interfere’ with 
 education. 

-70 O.S. § 24-100.4 is amended to detail School District policy on bullying.   The phrase 
‘prohibit bullying’ is changed to ‘address’ bullying.  The policy must now contain a 
procedure to facilitate anonymous reporting.  Any ‘school employee’ that has ‘reliable’ 
information on bullying must report it to the principal.  Also contains rules on training 
school employees, and on  publicizing the policy to various interested parties.  Requires 
that ‘documented and verified’ bullying which  may constitute criminal activity or 
‘endanger school safety’ must be reported to law enforcement.   
-70 O.S. § 24-100.5 is amended to clarify the membership and actions of the ‘Safe School 
Committee’ required for each ‘public school site’.   

 
SB 259 (EMERGENCY! - Effective July 1, 2013) amends 70 O.S. § 24-132.1 to require that a 
‘school authority’ shall immediately report to a law enforcement authority the discovery on a 
minor of any  firearm that is ‘not otherwise authorized by law to be possessed’.  The school is 
also to report the discovery of a firearm ‘upon a student that is not a minor’ or on ‘any other 
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person not otherwise authorize by law to possess a firearm on school property (pursuant to 21 

O.S. § 1280.1) and to deliver that firearm or weapon to law enforcement. 
 
SB 315 (effective November 1, 2013) amends 70 O.S. § 3311.5 to require  at least 2 hours of 
instruction in CLEET basic academy in ‘recognizing and managing a person experiencing 
dementia or Alzheimer’s disease’. 
 
SB 398 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 70 O.S. § 3311 to provide that (beginning January 
1, 2014) any reserve peace officer who has completed the 240 hour reserve officer certification 
program, AND who ‘has been in active service’ as a reserve for the past 2 years, is eligible to 
attend a 360 hour ‘bridge academy’ to become full time certified. 
 This change also requires ‘every law enforcement agency employing police or peace 
officer in this state’ to submit to CLEET a complete list of all commissioned employees, 
including ‘a current mailing address and phone number for each employee’ no later than 
October 1 of each year.   

A duty is imposed on ‘peace officers, reserve peace officers, and tribal peace officers’ to 
maintain ‘current residential addresses’ with CLEET and to notify the Council, in writing, of 
any change of address or name.  These notices must be made within 10 days of the change.  
Notices ‘shall not be accepted over the phone’. 
 Also included in this bill is a provision that a peace officer certification may be denied or 
revoked based upon ‘entry of a final order of protection’ against the applicant or officer. 
 
SB 408 (Effective November 1, 2013) amends 70 O.S.  3311.4 to change the requirements for 
‘over five’ officers (those  full time certified officers who have been inactive for 5 or more years).  
The 100 hour requirement is removed.  Instead, the officer is to complete ‘refresher training’ as 
prescribed by CLEET.    This change also allows the Director of CLEET to waive these 
requirements based on a review of the officer’s records. 
 Also enacts a new law to be codified at 70 O.S.  3311.14 to allow the Attorney General 
(or an assistant attorney general) to carry a firearm on his or her person ‘anywhere in this state’ 
but only for ‘personal protection’.  An ‘approved course of firearm training conducted by a 
certified firearms instructor’ and is equal to the ‘minimum requirements’ as set by CLEET must 
be completed. 

 
Title 76 - Torts 
 
HB 1009 (effective November 1, 2013) amends 76 O.S. § 10.1 to limit landowner liability and 
encourage landowners to ‘make land available to the public for outdoor recreational purposes’  
To accomplish this the definition of ‘land’ is greatly expanded, and the definition of ‘outdoor 
recreational purposes’ is expanded to included ‘aviation at non-public-use airports’ (primarily 
used by the owner with access to the public as permitted by the owner). 
 

 


