Broken Arrow Police Department
Police Officer

MINIMUM QUALIFICATIONS AND EDUCATION:

. Must be between the ages of 21 and 45 years of age, unless the individual is already a
member of the Oklahoma Police Pension.

. Must have at least 64 hours of college credit from an accredited college or university or
an associate’s degree. Colleges or Universities must be accredited through one of the following
six accrediting agencies:

0 Middle States Commission on Higher Education

0 New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Commission on Institutions
of Higher Education

0 North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, The Higher Learning
Commission
0 Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
0 Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges
0 Western Association of Schools and Colleges
. Must not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude.
. Must have no more than 3 moving traffic violations in the past 5 years or have in excess

of one at fault accident and two moving traffic violations in the past 5 years.

. Must have no convictions of operating or being in actual physical control of a motor
vehicle while under the influence or impaired by alcohol or drugs, or convictions of careless or
reckless driving in the past seven (7) years.

. Must undergo evaluation similar to the Minnesota Multi-Phasic Personality Inventory or
its equivalent.

. Must undergo and pass an extensive background investigation.
. Subsequent to a tentative job offer must submit to and satisfactorily pass a medical
examination as allowed and or required by Federal and State Statutes, including a pre-

employment drug screen.

. No convictions of a “misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.”



Must pass a polygraph.

Tattoos shall not be visible.

Physical Requirements

0]

Far Visual Acuity of at least 20/30 in each eye with or without corrective lenses.

Peripheral Vision without correction of 140 degrees in the horizontal median in
each eye.

Color blindness of any severity will be a disqualifier.

On average, hearing loss unaided in the better ear not greater than 40db at 500Hz,
1000Hz and 2000 Hz.

An applicant’s medical history and Pension Physical results will be thoroughly
reviewed by a physician of the City’s choice, and a determination will be made
whether any medical issue or condition exists that could potentially affect the
applicant’s ability to perform the basic functions of a police officer.



