Oklahoma, www.OK.gov
Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training - Home
spacer image
Skip Nav Skip to Search
Contact  |  CLEET Calendar
spacer image
 
get adobe reader
email icon Email   |   print icon Print  
 

Reciprocity

(Full-time Peace Officer certified in another state

seeking full-time Oklahoma Peace Officer certification)


390:10-1-6. Certification by reciprocity

Any officer seeking Oklahoma Peace Officer Certification, who has been certified by a state peace officer standards and training agency as a peace officer in another state, or any officer who has been certified as a federal peace officer by a Council recognized federal law enforcement agency, may obtain certification by reciprocity, under the following conditions:

(1)    The officer must meet the minimum peace officer employment standards set forth by law, military service is generally not recognized as federal law enforcement employment.

(2)    The officer must have been employed as a full time peace officer for at least three (3) months within the two (2) year period immediately preceding the request for Oklahoma certification.

(3)    The officer must attend the legal block and training as specified by CLEET.

(4)    The officer must successfully pass a certification examination

(5)    Officers may have one retest for the certification examination. Any retest would follow the guidelines listed in OAC 390:15-1-13.

(6)    The director or the director's designee may, in the exercise of discretion, award a certificate to any person who has been duly certified under the laws of another state if, in the opinion of the director, the education, training and experience of that officer equal or exceed the qualifications required to complete satisfactorily the basic course of instruction required for Oklahoma certification. In any event, each officer must attend the legal refresher block of instruction as specified by CLEET.

 

 

Basic Refresher Class Information

 

  • Held at the CLEET facility - 2401 Egypt Road, Ada, OK  74849
  • Two (2) week class
  • Tuesday – Friday
  • 0700 hours – 1600 hours
  • Lodging is provided at no charge in the dorms at the CLEET facility
  • Meals are the responsibility of the individual attending the class or his/her employing agency

 

Documentation Required for Verification

 

ALL documentation from out-of-state agencies/entities MUST be sent to DIRECTLY from the original agency/entity providing the information.  This may be sent via e-mail or regular mail.

 

  • Proof of employment - This may be:
    • a letter on agency letter head stating the start and end date as a full-time, commissioned peace officer; or
    • it may be a training record (such as CLEET’s) that shows your training history and possibly your employment history
  • A copy of your basic certification certificate or
  • A training record (such as CLEET’s) that shows your training history and possibly your employment history.
  • The curriculum subject/hour breakdown of your basic academy

 

NOTE: By Council rule, persons certified by other state POST’s or federal agencies, who have service breaks in excess of two (2) years, immediately prior to their application, ARE NOT ELIGIBLE for certification by reciprocity.

 

 

 

 

 

For more information via e-mail, contact
Cindy Donnelly

 

 

Information

 

 

2020 REFRESHER SCHEDULE

Refresher schedule is

Tuesday – Friday     0700 hours – 1800 hours

REFRESHER

START

END

20Refresher1

March 03, 2020

March 13, 2020

20Refresher2

July 21, 2020

July 31, 2020

20Refresher3

September 29, 2020

October 09, 2020

 

 Last Updated/Reviewed November 08, 2019