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SB 428 (Limited exception to post-retirement employment) 
Summary & Frequently Asked Questions 

 
Here is a brief summary of SB 428 that loosens the post-retirement income restriction for some retirees for a three year 
period. The law takes effect July 1, 2017. 

SB 428 (Sen. Smalley; Rep. Henke) Limited exception to post-retirement employment for retired classroom teachers 
who retired prior to July 1, 2017 and who have been retired for at least one year; and TRS cleanup – The State 
Department of Education sponsored a bill as an effort to try and recruit TRS retirees back to the classroom. The 
exception to the general limitations on post-retirement employment will last three (3) years from July 1, 2017 through 
June 30, 2020. It will only be available to members who retired as “active classroom teachers” as of July 1, 2017 and who 
have not been employed by any public school in any capacity for at least one year. These retired teachers may be hired 
as active classroom teachers without any limitation on earnings. These returning retirees must be hired on temporary 
contracts. 
 
To be eligible here are the requirements: 
 
1. The member must have retired as an “active classroom teacher.” That is defined in TRS statutes as follows: 
"Active classroom teacher" means a person employed by a school district to teach students specifically identified classes 
for specifically identified subjects during the course of a semester, and who holds a valid certificate or license issued by 
and in accordance with the rules and regulations of the State Board of Education. 
 
*A member who retired as a superintendent or in other non-teaching positions, is not eligible. There might be 
administrators whose contract required them to teach also. Members must have met the definition above in their last 
year of teaching before retirement. 
 
2. Retirees must be hired as “active classroom teachers” when they return to work. 
 
3. Retirees must have been retired for at least one year. In addition they cannot have been employed by any Oklahoma 
public school in any capacity for a period of one year. The one year period starts with the retiree's last day of 
preretirement public education employment.   
 
4. Retirees must have a retirement date of no later than July 1, 2017 to ever get the benefit of this exception in SB 428. 
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Frequently Asked Questions 
 
1. I’m retiring on August 1, 2017. Can I be rehired by a public school in one year with no salary restriction under the new 
law? 
No. Only members who retired on or before July 1, 2017 may ever take advantage of the exceptions in SB 428. 
 
2. I retired April 1, 2017.  Can I be rehired by a public school starting August or September 2018 with no salary restriction 
under the new law? 
Yes. Members who have not been employed by any Oklahoma public school for at least one year may take advantage 
of the exceptions in SB 428. You could have returned any time on or after April 1, 2018 and come under the 
exceptions of SB 428. 
 
3. I taught in the Oklahoma public schools for 30 years. The last 2 years before I retired, I was an elementary school 
principal with no teaching duties.  Can I be rehired by a public school in one year with no salary restriction under the 
new law? 
No. Only those who retired as an “active classroom teacher” may ever take advantage of the exceptions in SB 428. 
 
4. I retired on June 1, 2016 as a 5th grade elementary school teacher. I worked part-time at an elementary school during 
the 2016-17 school year. Can I work during the 2018-2019 school year without a limitation on my salary? 
No. You retired on or before July 1, 2017, but you must also not be employed for a full year after you retired before 
being eligible to work without a salary limitation under SB 428.  
 
5. I retired on June 1, 2015 as an 11th grade science teacher. I was off work until August 1, 2016, when I returned to 
work part-time as a substitute teacher. Can I work during the 2017-2018 school year without a limitation on my salary? 
Yes. The one-year work limitation begins on your last day of pre-retirement employment. That one-year period 
expired May 30, 2016 making you eligible to return to work as a classroom teacher without salary limitations. 
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