Skip Nav Skip to Search
April 21, 2015
April 21, 2015
OSBP-ISMP Pharmacy Practice Safety Conference 2015 - The Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy will be hosting a half-day continuing education conference aimed at improving patient safety for pharmacists. Two locations are being offered this year: Oklahoma City, OK on June 23rd or Tulsa, OK on June 24th.
The conference, including lunch and three (3) hours of ACPE-accredited continuing education, is being provided without charge by the Board to further its mission of protecting the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Oklahoma.
Donna Horn, R.Ph., D.Ph., Director, Patient Safety-Community Pharmacy from the Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP) will present three (3) hours of ACPE-accredited CE on the topics of: 1) Rooting Out Errors in Your Pharmacy - 2 hours 2) There Seems to Be a Mistake With My Prescription (An ambulatory approach to responding to a medication error) - 1 hour.
The programs will be the same for each day. No duplicate registrations are allowed.
Tuesday, June 23, 2015 Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame Event Center 4040 N Lincoln Blvd Oklahoma City, OK
Wednesday, June 24, 2015 Renaissance Hotel & Convention Center 6808 S 107th E Ave Tulsa, OK
Sign-In 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Lunch (no cost- included with free registration) 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Program 1:00 pm - 4:30 pm
REGISTRATION: Reservations will be accepted on a first-come basis. Email the following information to firstname.lastname@example.org to reserve a spot:
View Conference Flyer:
January 2, 2015
December 5, 2014
OPTOMETRIST RX'S FOR HYDROCODONE CONTAINING MEDICATIONS:
59 OS Sect 581 (B). The practice of optometry shall also include the prescribing of dangerous drugs and controlled dangerous substances for all schedules specified in the Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances Act except Schedules I and II but allowing for the prescribing of hydrocodone or hydrocodone-containing drugs regardless of schedule for a period not exceeding five (5) days of supply, and the issuance of refills for such prescriptions following sufficient physical examination of the patient for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of ocular abnormalities. The practice of optometry shall not include the dispensing of drugs but may include the dispensing of professional samples to patients.
November 4, 2014
E-PRESCRIBING OF CDS:
October 2, 2014
NATIONAL TRANSPORTATION SAFETY BOARD (NTSB) ANNOUNCEMENT (click to view): On September 23, 2014, the NTSB issued a Safety Recommendation highlighting the importance of licensed health care providers and pharmacists routinely discussing with patients the effect their diagnosed medical conditions or recommended drugs may have on their ability to safely operate a vehicle in any mode of transportation.
August 28, 2014
NOTICE OF HYDROCODONE RESCHEDULE EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 6, 2014 (click to view): All products containing Hydrocodone will be rescheduled as a Schedule II (C-II) beginning October 6, 2014. To make the transition easier, the Board, working with multiple agencies, has summarized the essential information pertaining to the change. This summary is designed for the convenience of both pharmacists and practitioners and should be shared as necessary. Pharmacists should make an effort to share with all pharmacy staff.
August 5, 2014
TRAMADOL UPDATE: Tramadol will become a federally controlled Schedule IV beginning August 18, 2014. Though Tramadol has been a controlled substance in the State of Oklahoma since November 1, 2012, the DEA is requiring that pharmacies take an inventory of all Tramadol and Tramadol-containing products on AUGUST 18, 2014. The inventory must be kept on file in the pharmacy.
August 5, 2014
May 27, 2014
NOTICE OF PARENTERAL PERMIT & PHARMACIST-IN-CHARGE REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSED NON-RESIDENT PHARMACIES (click to view Board memo)
Beginning July 1, 2014 there will be a change in the licensing requirements for non-resident pharmacies licensed by the Board that are compounding sterile drug products. If a licensed non-resident pharmacy is compounding sterile drug products, they must obtain an Oklahoma "Parenteral Permit" in addition to their pharmacy license.
Beginning January 1, 2015 all new and renewal non-resident pharmacy license applications that require a parenteral permit (i.e. pharmacies compounding sterile drug products) will also be required to have an Oklahoma license pharmacy manager or pharmacist-in-charge.
August 14, 2012
PSE questions & answers for pharmacies selling PSE. (click to view)
October 6, 2010
DEA Policy Statement on Role of Agents in Communicating CS Prescriptions:
July 2, 2009
EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY the following ID's are allowed in Oklahoma for PSE:
State Issued Driver's License
If, and only if, a patient has none of these types of ID, such as a nursing home patient, then you may use a social security number to submit for PSE and PMP. For the purpose of accepting ID’s, please refer to the following definition: “State” means any state, territory, or possession of the United States, the District of Columbia, or foreign nation.
Any questions concerning PSE requirements should be directed to the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics at 405-521-2885.
Last Modified on 04/21/2015
State of Oklahoma|
OK.gov Help Desk | OK.gov Policies | About Oklahoma's Web Portal | Feedback