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Oklahoma Real Estate Commission 
Emergency Rules Effective January 1, 2008 

 
CHAPTER 1. ADMINISTRATIVE OPERATIONS 

SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
605:1-1-4.  Operational procedures 
(a) Organization.  The organization of the Commission is declared to be that as 
enumerated in Sections 858-201 through 858-204 of the heretofore described Code. 
(b) Operational procedures.  The general course and method of operation shall be as 
hereinafter specified in overall provisions of the rules of this Title. 
(c) Open Records Act.  In conformance with Title 51, Section 24 A.1., et seq, Oklahoma 
Statutes, 1985, titled "Oklahoma Open Records Act" all open records of the Real Estate 
Commission may be inspected and copied in accordance with procedures, policies, and fee 
as required by the Commission.  The Commission shall charge the following: 
 (1) A fee of $.25 for each xerographic copy or micrographic image. 
 (2) A fee of $1.00 for each copy to be certified. 

(3) A fee of $10.00 per hour for a record or file search. 
(4) A fee of Forty Dollars ($40.00) per extract for License Data extract. 
(5) A fee of Fifty Dollars ($50.00) every three (3) months for an Examinee Data 
extract. 
(6) A fee of no more than Seven Dollars and Fifty Cents ($7.50) for a convenience 
fee for any electronic/on-line transaction. 

(d) Directory of Licensees.  One copy of the Directory of Licensees shall be provided each 
licensee if Commission funds permit.   Additional copies shall be available to licensees and 
the public from the Commission upon payment of a charge based on actual cost of 
production and printing.  Copies of the Directory may be furnished to governmental 
agencies without charge as inventory permits. 
(e) Petition for promulgation, amendment or repeal of any rule.  Any person may 
petition the Commission in writing requesting a promulgation, amendment or repeal of any 
rule. 
   (1) The petition must be in writing in business letter form or in the form of petitions 

used in civil cases in this State, and shall contain an explanation and the implications of 
the request and shall be: 
 (A) Signed by the person filing the petition and be filed with the Secretary-

Treasurer of the Commission. 
  (B) Submitted to the Commission at least thirty (30) days prior to a regular 

meeting. 
  (C) Considered by the Commission at its first meeting following such thirty 

(30) days. 
 (D) Scheduled for a public hearing before the Commission within sixty (60) 

days after being considered by the Commission in a regular meeting. 
 (2) Within sixty (60) days after the public hearing, the Commission shall either grant 

or deny the petition.  If the petition is granted, the Commission shall immediately begin 
the procedure for the promulgation, amendment or repeal of any rule pursuant to Title 
75 O.S. 303. 
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 (3) If the petition is denied the parties retain their rights under 75 O.S. Sec. 318, to 
proper Judicial Review. 

(f) Petition for declaratory ruling of any rule or order. 
(1) Any person may petition the Commission for a declaratory ruling as authorized 
by Section 307 of Title 75 of the Oklahoma Statutes as to the applicability of any rule 
or order of the Commission.  Such petition shall: 

(A) be in writing; 
(B) be signed by the person seeking the ruling; 
(C) state the rule or order involved; 
(D) contain a brief statement of facts to which the ruling shall apply; and 
(E) if known and available to petitioner, include citations of legal authority in  

  support of such views. 
(2) The Commission shall have at least thirty (30) days to review the petition.  
Following the review period, the Commission shall consider the petition at its next 
meeting. 
(3) The Commission may compel the production of testimony and evidence 
necessary to make its declaratory ruling. 

 (4) Declaratory rulings shall be available for review by the public at the 
Commission office.  

(g) Contract Forms Committee. 
 (1) The contract forms committee is required to draft and revise residential real estate 

purchase and/or lease contracts and any related addenda for standardization and use by 
real estate licensees (Title 59 O.S. 858-208 {14}). 

 (2) The committee shall consist of eleven (11) members. Three (3) members shall be 
appointed by the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission; three (3) members shall be 
appointed by the Oklahoma Bar Association; and five (5) members shall be appointed 
by the Oklahoma Association of Realtors, Incorporated. 

 (3) The initial members’ terms shall begin upon development of the forms and each 
member  shall serve through the effective date of implementation of form(s) plus one 
(1) year. Thereafter, the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission shall appoint one (1) 
member for one (1) year, one (1) member for two (2) years, and one (1) member for 
three (3) years; the Oklahoma Bar Association shall appoint one (1) member for one (1) 
year, one (1) member for two (2) years, and one (1) member for three (3) years and; the 
Oklahoma Association of Realtors, Incorporated shall appoint two (2) members for one 
(1) year, two (2) members for two (2) years, and one (1) member for three (3) years.  
Thereafter, terms shall be for three (3) years and each member shall serve until their 
term expires and their successor has been appointed.  Any vacancy which may occur in 
the membership of the committee shall be filled by the appropriate appointing entity. 

 (4) A member can be removed for just cause by the committee. 
(5) Each member of the committee shall be entitled to receive travel expenses essential 
to the performance of the duties of his appointment, as provided in the State Travel 
Reimbursement Act. 

 
CHAPTER 10. REQUIREMENTS, STANDARDS AND PROCEDURES 

SUBCHAPTER 3. EDUCATION AND EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS 
 

 605:10-3-2.  Application for license 
(a) Requirements for completing application. 
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 (1) Any person seeking a real estate license shall make application for such license on 
a form provided by the Commission.  The form shall contain, but not be limited to, the 
following: 

  (A) Legal name to include first, middle and last name.  
  (B) Routine biographical information.  
  (C) License history in Oklahoma and other states.  
  (D) Criminal and/or civil charges or convictions, including bankruptcy and 

judgments.  
  (E) All residential addresses and employment data for past five (5) years. 
  (F) Recent photograph. 
  (G) Birth date. 
  (H) Evidence of successful completion of course requirement as specified in the 

"Code".  
(I) A sworn statement as to accuracy of the application information. 
(J) Documentation required for compliance necessary to verify citizenship, 

qualified alien status, and eligibility under the Personal Responsibility and 
Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996. 

(K)  Social security number, pursuant to Title 56, Oklahoma Statutes, Section 
240.21A. 
(L) Submit to a national criminal history record check, as defined by Section 150.9 
of Title 74 of the Oklahoma Statutes.  A fee amount, not to exceed sixty dollars  
($60.00), shall be sent to the Commission to begin the process of the national 
criminal history check. 

i. A completed national criminal history record check, completed for the 
Commission, shall be valid for six (6) months from the date of issuance from 
the issuing authority. 
ii. In the event an applicant is not physically able to submit to finger printing, 
other applicant identifiers shall be utilized, i.e., name, birth date and social 
security number. 

 (2) An applicant indicating a bankruptcy or judgment, criminal and/or civil charges or 
convictions on the application, must submit with the application official documents to 
the Commission which pertain to the disposition of the matter.  If official documents 
are unable to be obtained, a detailed letter explaining the matter(s) must be attached to 
the application. 

(b) Applicant shall appear for examination.  Each applicant shall appear for an 
examination as soon as possible subsequent to the filing of an approved application or the 
signing of a form as required in 605:10-3-3. 
(c) Applicant must be of good moral character.  The application submitted by an 
individual seeking a license must indicate that the applicant possesses a reputation for 
honesty, truthfulness, trustworthiness, good moral character, and that he or she bears a good 
reputation for fair dealing.  
(d) Determining good moral character.   In determining whether or not an applicant 
meets the definition of good moral character, the Commission will consider, but not be 
limited to, the following: 
 (1) Whether the probation period given in a conviction or deferred sentence has been 

completed and fully satisfied to include fines, court costs, etc. 
 (2) Whether the restitution ordered by a court in a criminal conviction or civil 

judgement has been fully satisfied. 
 (3) Whether a bankruptcy that is real estate related has been discharged. 
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 (4) Whether an applicant has been denied licensure or a license has been suspended or 
revoked by this or any other state or jurisdiction to practice or conduct any regulated 
profession, business or vocation because of any conduct or practices which would have 
warranted a like result under the Oklahoma "Code". 

 (5) Whether an applicant has been guilty of conduct or practices in this state or 
elsewhere which would have been grounds for revocation or suspension under the 
current Oklahoma "Code" had the applicant been licensed. 

(e) Subsequent good conduct.  If, because of lapse of time and subsequent good conduct 
and reputation or other reason deemed sufficient, it shall appear to the Commission that the 
interest of the public will not likely be in danger by the granting of such license, the 
Commission may approve the applicant as relates to good moral character. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 7. LICENSING PROCEDURES AND OPTIONS 
 
605:10-7-2.  License terms and fees; renewals; reinstatements 
(a) License term and fees.  Each original license issued under the Code on and after 
July 1, 1981, shall be issued to expire at the end of the thirty-sixth (36) month including the 
month of issuance.  Each original provisional sales associate license issued under the Code 
on and after August 1, 2001, shall be issued to expire at the end of the twelfth (12th) month 
including the month of issuance.  On and after August 1, 2001: 
 (1) For an original broker license and each subsequent license renewal, to include 

corporations, associations or partnerships, the fee shall be Two Hundred and Ten 
Dollars ($210.00).  
(2) For an inactive original broker license and each subsequent inactive license renewal, 
with the exception of corporations, associations or partnerships, the fee shall be One 
Hundred and Twenty-five Dollars ($125.00.) In order to activate such license that was 
renewed inactive in the same license term, the licensee shall pay One Hundred and 
Thirty Dollars ($130.00.) Thereafter, any future request to activate in the same license 
term shall be in accordance with Rule 605:10-7-4. 
(3) For an active original sales associate license and each subsequent active license 
renewal the fee shall be One Hundred and Fifty Dollars ($150.00.) 
(4) For an inactive original sales associate license and each subsequent inactive license 
renewal the fee shall be Ninety-five Dollars ($95.00.) In order to activate a sales 
associate license that was renewed inactive in the same license term, the licensee shall 
pay One Hundred Dollars ($100.00.) Thereafter, any future request to activate in the 
same license term shall be in accordance with Rule 605:10-7-4. 
(5) For a non-renewable original provisional sales associate license the fee shall be 
Seventy Dollars ($70.00.) 
(6) For an original branch office license and each subsequent license renewal the fee 
shall be One Hundred and Twenty-five Dollars ($125.00.) 

 (7) For each duplicate license or pocket card, where the original license is lost or 
destroyed, and a written request is made, a fee of Seven Dollars and fifty cents ($7.50) 
shall be charged. 

 (8) An additional Fifteen Dollar ($15.00) fee, the Education and Recovery Fund fee, 
shall be added and payable with the license fee for an original license and subsequent 
license renewal for each license with the exception of a provisional sales associate 
license which fee shall be Five Dollars ($5.00) for their twelve (12) month license term 
and a branch office which shall not pay the fee. 
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(b) Terms cannot be altered. Terms shall not be altered except for purposes of general 
reassignment of terms which might be necessitated for the purpose of maintaining an 
equitable staggered license term system. 
(c) Expiration date.  The actual expiration date of a license shall be midnight of the last 
day of   the month of the designated license term.  A person who allows their license to 
expire shall be considered an applicant and subject to a national criminal history record 
check, as defined by Section 150.9  of Title 74 of the Oklahoma Statutes. 
(d) Late penalty.  All renewals shall be filed on or before midnight of the tenth day of the 
month in which said license is due to expire, except in the event that date falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday or holiday; in such case, the next Commission working day shall be 
considered the due date for all renewals except electronic online renewals wherein this 
exception would not apply.  Any such renewal application filed after such date shall be 
subject to a late penalty fee of Ten Dollars ($10.00). 
(e) Actual filing of license renewal.  A license shall lapse and terminate if a renewal 
application and required fees have not been filed with the Commission by midnight of the 
date on which the license is due to expire, except in the event that date falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday or holiday; in such case, the next Commission working day shall be considered the 
due date.  A renewal application and required fees are considered filed with the Commission 
on the date of the United States postal service postmark or the date personal delivery is 
made to the Commission office. 
(f) Reinstatement of license.   Any licensee whose license term has expired shall be 
considered for reinstatement of such license upon payment of an amount equal to the current 
examination fee in addition to the license and late penalty fee(s) for each delinquent license 
period(s).  The following documents and fees must be submitted: 
 (1) Lapsed less than one year.  In the case of a license lapsed less than one year: 
  (A) License and late penalty fee. 
  (B) Reinstatement fee. 
  (C) Documents as required by the Commission.   
 (2) Lapsed more than one year but less than two years.  In the case of a license 

lapsed more than one year but less than two years. 
  (A) License and late penalty fee. 
  (B) Reinstatement fee. 
  (C) A completed reinstatement application. 
  (D) A statement that the applicant has read a current License Code and Rules 

booklet. 
  (E) If applicable, a statement as to why the license fee was not paid in a timely 

manner. 
  (F) Documents as required by the Commission. 
 (3) Lapsed more than two years.  In the case of a license lapsed more than two years. 
  (A) License and late penalty fee(s). 
  (B) Reinstatement fee(s). 
  (C) A completed reinstatement application.  
  (D) Successful completion of the appropriate licensing examination. 
  (E) Documents as required by the Commission. 
 (4) Lapsed more than five years.   If such late application is submitted more than 

five (5) years subsequent to the most recent year of licensure, the applicant shall be 
regarded as an original applicant.  

 (5) May apply as an original if lapsed more than two years.  In the case of a license 
lapsed more than two (2) years but less than five (5) years, the applicant may at his or 
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her option apply as an original applicant provided evidence is submitted to show that 
the applicant has successfully completed the appropriate prelicense course(s).  A person 
who does not possess a valid license may be considered for re-license only through the 
provision for reinstatement unless such license has been lapsed more than two (2) years.  
In the case of a provisional sales associate, the applicant would be required to repeat 
and successfully complete the postlicense requirement.  If this option is elected by a 
previously licensed sales associate, the sales associate shall be regarded as an original 
applicant. 

(g) Reinstatement of a provisional sales associate license wherein postlicense 
education was completed prior to license expiration date.  On and after June 1, 1996, an 
applicant who successfully completed the postlicense education requirement before their 
first license expiration date and failed to renew their license on or before such date shall be 
eligible to reinstate the license as a sales associate according to 605:10-7-2 (f), (1) through 
(5). 
(h) Reinstatement of a provisional sales associate license wherein postlicense 
education was not completed prior to license expiration date.  On and after June 1, 1996, 
an applicant who has not successfully completed the postlicense educational requirement 
prior to the first license expiration date shall not be eligible to reinstate such license and 
shall apply and qualify as an original applicant. 
(i) Reinstatement of revoked license.  An applicant may not apply for re-license or 
reinstatement of license for a minimum of three (3) years from the effective date of license 
revocation.  Upon the passage of the three (3) year period, the applicant shall be required to 
comply with the requirements of an original applicant. 
(j) Reinstatement of a surrendered or cancelled license.  A surrendered or cancelled 
applicant may be reinstated provided the applicant has received approval for re-issuance 
from the Commission.  The following forms and fees must be submitted: 
 (1) Reinstatement with term of license still current.  A surrendered or cancelled 

applicant whose license term is still current: 
  (A) Applicable reinstatement fee. 
  (B) Re-issuance fee. 
  (C) Documents as required by the Commission. 
 (2) Reinstatement with term of license expired.  A surrendered or cancelled 

applicant whose license term has expired shall be required to comply with the 
requirements of (f) of this Section. 

 (3) Reinstatement of provisional sales associate with term of license expired.   A  
surrendered or cancelled provisional sales associate whose license term has expired 
shall be required to comply with the following: 

  (A) If a provisional sales associate completed the postlicensing requirement on or 
before the first license expiration date, the applicant shall be eligible to reinstate the 
license according to 605:10-7-2 (f), (1) through (5). 

  (B) If a provisional sales associate did not complete the postlicensing requirement 
on or before the first license expiration date, the applicant shall be required to 
apply and qualify as an original applicant. 

(k) Continuing education requirement.  On and after July 1, 1984, each licensee with the 
exception of those as listed in Title 59, O.S., Section 858-307.2 (D) seeking renewal of a 
license must submit evidence that he or she has completed the continuing education 
requirements enumerated in Section 858-307.2 of Title 59.  Further, on and after July 1, 
1984, an applicant seeking active reinstatement of a lapsed license must submit evidence 
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that he or she has completed continuing education requirements.  The applicant must meet 
the continuing education requirement for each term in which an active license is requested.   
(l) Sales to broker license fee prorated.  If a real estate sales associate or provisional 
sales associate shall qualify for a license as a real estate broker, the unused license fee shall 
be credited to the broker license fee.  The unused license fee credit shall commence with the 
first full month following the month in which the broker license is to be issued. 
(m) Issuance of license from provisional sales associate to sales associate if licensed 
prior to August 1, 2001.  A provisional sales associate is required to furnish to the 
Commission evidence of successful completion of the postlicense education requirement as 
set forth in Section 858-302 of Title 59, of the Oklahoma Statutes.  Upon successful 
completion of the postlicense education requirement, the provisional sales associate must 
apply by submitting the appropriate document(s) and fee of Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00) to 
the Commission for issuance of a renewable sales associate license.  The issuance of the 
license from a provisional sales associate to a sales associate only changes the license type 
and does not change the expiration date of the license. 
(m)  Licensed prior to effective date of national criminal history check and license 
expires however eligible for reinstatement.  A licensee who allows their license to 
expire after January 1, 2008, shall be required to submit to a national criminal history 
check; however, such individual shall be allowed to proceed with reinstatement of such 
license pending receipt by the Commission of a completed national criminal history 
check.   If, the Commission does not receive Part A of their application and their finger 
print card within thirty (30) days from the date their license was reinstated, the license 
will be placed inactive and a hold placed on the license until receipt by the Commission 
of a completed national criminal history check.    Upon receipt by the Commission, the 
license may be reactivated so long as appropriate forms and fees, as stated elsewhere in 
these rules, have been received by the Commission. 
(n) Issuance of license from provisional sales associate to sales associate if licensed on 
and after August 1, 2001.  A provisional sales associate is required to furnish to the 
Commission evidence of successful completion of the Provisional Postlicense Course of 
Real Estate, Part II of II education requirement as set forth in Section 858-302 of Title 59, 
of the Oklahoma Statutes.  Upon successful completion of the Provisional Postlicense 
Course of Real Estate, Part II of II education requirement, the provisional sales associate 
must submit the appropriate document(s) to the Commission prior to the provisional sales 
associate’s license expiration date for issuance of a renewable sales associate license. The 
Commission shall not issue the provisional sales associate a renewable sales associate 
license until the end of the provisional sales associate’s license term and until the 
provisional sales associate has successfully completed the Provisional Postlicense Course 
of Real Estate, Part II of II education requirement and has initiated a renewal for a 
renewable sales associate license.  
(o) Active status requested, however, Commission unable to activate for reasons as 
stated in statutes elsewhere.  In the event a licensee requests an active original license 
or subsequent license renewal to be issued on active status and for reasons beyond the 
Commission’s control the licensee is unable to obtain an active license at that time, the 
fees as received by the Commission shall be retained and not refunded.  Once the licensee 
corrects the problem with the appropriate regulatory agency and such agency authorizes 
the issuance of an active license, the Commission will then, upon receipt of an activation 
fee and required documentation, initiate the issuance of an active license within the 
respective license term.  
(p) Active sales associate to inactive broker license – no remaining credit to be 
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given.  On and after August 1, 2001, in the event an active sales associate within six (6) 
months of obtaining their original license, reinstatement or license renewal qualifies for 
an inactive broker license, the Commission shall not refund credit the difference in the 
license fees. 
 
 


