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Oklahoma Real Estate Commission 
Emergency Rules Effective January 1, 2009 

 
SUBCHAPTER 3. EDUCATION AND EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS 

 
605:10-3-5.  Examinations 
(a) Applicant must appear in person.  When an application for examination has been submitted to 
the Commission, the applicant shall be required to appear in person, at a time and place to be 
designated by the Commission, and answer questions based on the required subject matter as 
prescribed elsewhere in the rules of this Chapter.  Unless otherwise directed by the Commission, all 
examinations will be conducted in Oklahoma City. On and after August 1, 2001, each broker 
examination fee shall be Seventy-five Dollars ($75.00) and each provisional sales associate/sales 
associate examination fee shall be Sixty Dollars ($60.00). 
(b)   Computer and written examinations Special Accommodations.  In the event a computer is 
available and in working order, the Commission shall administer the examination by computer.  If an 
applicant requests to take the examination in a written form and a computer is available, a charge of 
Twenty Dollars ($20.00) in addition to the regular examination fee will be assessed the applicant.  In 
the event a written request is made by a handicapped individual, the Commission may waive the fee. 
In cases where special accommodations are necessary under the requirements of the Americans 
with Disabilities Act, applicants must notify the examination supplier in advance by submitting a 
written request, on a form prescribed by the Commission, describing the disability and necessary 
accommodations.  
(c) Failure to pass examination.  If an applicant fails to pass the examination prescribed by the 
Commission, the Commission may permit subsequent examinations upon receipt of a new 
examination fee for each examination to be attempted.  
(d)  Applicant request to view failed examination.  An applicant who fails the examination may, 
within thirty (30) days of the date of the examination, personally visit the Commission office and view 
his or her has the option of reviewing their missed questions at the end of their examination.  If, as a 
result of such viewing, the applicant is of the opinion incorrect grading was the cause for his or her 
receiving a failing grade, he or she may within ten (10) days request a review by the Commission of 
his or her examination. The purpose of such a review by the Commission shall be to determine 
whether or not such examination was correctly graded.    An applicant may challenge the validity of 
any question(s) they identify as incorrectly graded.  A challenge to a question that pertains to the 
Oklahoma law portion of the examination will be sent to the Commission by the examination supplier.  
A challenge to a question that pertains to the national portion will fall under the review policy of the 
examination supplier.  In either case, both the examination supplier and/or the Commission shall have 
five (5) business days in which to review and issue a response to the applicant.  Applicants will be 
allowed up to one (1) hour to review their exam and the applicant will not be allowed to test on the 
same day they review a failed examination.  No notes, pencils, or electronic devices will be allowed 
during review nor will they be allowed to leave the examination area with the examination questions.   
 (e) Application valid for one year.  The original examination application shall be valid for one (1) 
year from date of filing.  A request to write an examination submitted more than one (1) year from the 
most recent original application filing must be accompanied by a new original application form. After 
such date, an applicant must complete a new original application form. 
(f) Passing percentile of examination.  A score of seventy-five percent (75%) or more shall be 
considered a passing grade on the broker or provisional sales associate/sales associate examination. 
(g) Validity period of examination results. 
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 (1) Approved or incomplete application.  The results of an examination wherein an applicant 
scored a passing grade shall be valid for ninety (90) days one (1) year from the date of such 
examination.  
 (2) Unapproved application.  The results of an examination wherein an applicant scored a 

passing grade shall be valid for ninety (90) days from the date the application has received final 
approval but shall not be valid for more than one year from the date of examination. 

(h) Extension of examination grade validity period.  An applicant may request in writing for an 
extension of the validity period, showing cause why such period should be extended.  At the discretion 
of the Commission, such validity period may be extended. 
(i) (h) Disciplinary examination fee.  A fee shall be charged for an examination which is directed 
by Order of the Commission as disciplinary action. 
(j) Broker applicants.  A broker applicant who completes an entire broker examination and who is 
unsuccessful, may, if he or she retakes the examination within thirty (30) days, elect not to complete 
the written closing statement portion again, but be given his or her first written closing statement and 
re-enter his or her multiple choice closing statement answers. 

 
SUBCHAPTER 5. INSTRUCTOR AND ENTITY REQUIREMENTS AND STANDARDS 

 
605:10-5-1. Approval of prelicense course offerings 
(a) Course approval.  Any person or entity seeking to conduct an approved course of study shall 
make application and submit documents, statements and forms as may reasonably be required by the 
Commission.  The request shall include the following: 

(1) Completed course application. 
(2)   Application fee of One Hundred Twenty-five Dollars ($125.00) for each course. 
(3)  An approved course syllabus encompassing the contents enumerated in 605:10-3-1 and 
divided by instructional periods, the name, author and publisher of the primary textbook, or a 
statement stating the entity will use the OREC syllabus and other items as may be required by the 
Commission. 

(b) Course offering requirements. 
 (1) An entity not conducting an applicable approved course within any thirty-six (36) month 

period shall automatically be removed from approved status.  In such event, the person and/or 
entity must re-apply as an original applicant. 

 (2) If a course of study is to be conducted in the name of a corporation, the application shall 
include the names and addresses of all directors and officers. 

 (3) An approved entity shall immediately report any changes in information in regards to the 
application previously filed with the Commission. 

(c) Denied applications.  No portion of the fees enumerated in this Section is refundable.  If an 
instructor, entity or course application is not approved, the applicant may appeal the decision by filing 
a written request for a hearing before the Commission.  The hearing procedure shall be that as outlined 
in 605:10-1-3 titled "Appeal of administrative decisions; procedures." 
(d) Advertising course offerings.  No person or entity sponsoring or conducting a course of study 
shall advertise that it is endorsed, recommended or accredited by the Commission.  Such person or 
entity may indicate that a course of study has been approved by the Commission. 
(e) Instructor application and approval requirements.  An individual determined by the 
Commission to possess one or more of the following qualifications may, upon receipt of an application 
and evidence of education and/or experience, be considered for approval as an approved instructor.  
Each application for approval must be accompanied by a Twenty-Five Dollar  ($25.00) One Hundred 
Dollar ($100.00) application fee, and documentation required for compliance necessary to verify 
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citizenship, qualified alien status, and eligibility under the Personal Responsibility and Work 
Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996.  In order to qualify, an individual must possess proof of one 
of the following: 
 (1) A bachelor's degree with a major in real estate from an accredited college or university. 
 (2) A bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, and at least two (2) years active 

experience within the previous ten (10) years as a real estate broker. 
(3)  A real estate broker licensed in Oklahoma with a minimum of five (5) years  active 
experience within the previous ten (10) years as a real estate broker and proof of high school 
education or its GED equivalent. 

 (4) An individual determined by the Commission to possess a combination of education and/or 
active broker experience in real estate or real estate related fields which constitute constitutes an 
equivalent to of one or more of the qualifications in paragraphs (1), (2), or (3) of this subsection. 

(f)  Course content examination.  Final approval will be considered after the instructor applicant 
has paid the appropriate examination fee and successfully completed an applicable Commission 
administered course content examination with a passing score of 80% or more.  An instructor shall be 
allowed to successfully complete the applicable examination one time without charge; thereafter, the 
applicable examination fee shall be charged for each examination.  If an instructor applicant fails to 
pass the examination prescribed by the Commission, the Commission may permit subsequent 
examinations upon receipt of the applicable examination fee for each examination to be taken. If an 
instructor applicant has successfully taken an applicable license examination with a passing score of 
80% or more within thirty (30) days of filing an instructor application, such passing score may be 
utilized to meet the applicable examination requirement in this section.  If however, the instructor 
applicant does not obtain approval within 90 days of filing an instructor application, due to no fault on 
the part of the Commission, the instructor will be required to take the applicable examination again.  

(g) Instructor renewal requirements.   
       (1)    In order to maintain approved status, an instructor must comply with the following: 
  (A) Attend a Commission directed Instructor Renewal Course every twelve (12) months.  

Instructors approved solely for distance education offerings must complete three (3) hours 
every twelve (12) months of instructor training as accepted by the Commission and sign a 
statement that changes to current law and rules have been reviewed and that the instructor has 
made applicable amendments to the course material. 

  (B) Furnish evidence that the instructor has taught a Commission approved prelicense 
course, or any other real estate related course(s) the Commission determines to be equivalent, 
within a required thirty-six (36) month period. 

 (2) Any instructor not meeting the requirements of this subsection will be required to re-apply as 
an original instructor applicant. 

(h) Guest instructors.  Guest instructors may be utilized for in-class instruction provided an approved 
instructor is also present during presentations.  Total guest instruction and lectures shall not consume 
more than thirty percent (30%) of the total course time.   
(i)  Instructor and entity requirements. 
 (1) Instructor must be present.  An approved instructor must be present in the same room 

during all in-class course instruction for students to receive credit toward course completion. 
 (2) Retention of records.  An instructor/entity shall maintain a record of enrollment records and 

roll sheets which include number of hours attempted by each student. 
 (3) Course completion certificate.  Each individual successfully completing a course of study 

approved by the Commission shall be furnished a certificate prescribed or approved by the 
Commission certifying completion.  The Commission shall accept from a college or university a 
certified transcript or a course completion certificate as prescribed by the Commission. 
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 (4) Commission authorized to audit and inspect records.  A duly authorized designee of the 
Commission may audit any offering and/or inspect the records of the entity at any time during its 
presentation or during reasonable office hours or the entity may be required to provide the records 
to the Commission. 

 (5) Clock hours and breaks.  Not more than one clock hour may be registered within any one 
sixty (60) minute period and no more than ten (10) minutes of each hour shall be utilized for 
breaks. 

 (6) Class size limited.  Instructor ratio to students shall not exceed sixty (60). 
(j) Facility approval requirements.  Before an approved course offering can be presented at a 
location, the person or group presenting the course must seek approval of the facility to be used for 
presentation of the course.  A Commission approved application must be completed and accompanied 
by a Seventy-five Dollar ($75.00) application fee. 

(1) The application fee may be waived if the facility request for approval has been approved 
for use as a classroom by the State Department of Education, State Regents of Higher 
Education, or State Vocational and Technical Education. 

 (2) The application fee may be waived if an entity is requesting to utilize a facility that is 
currently approved by the Commission as an active facility site.  

 (3) The Commission shall act on a facility application within thirty (30) days of receipt of 
application. 

(k) Disciplinary action.  An approved course of study, director, instructor and/or facility may be 
withdrawn or disciplined as outlined in Title 59, O.S., Section 858-208, paragraph 6 either on a 
complaint filed by an interested person or the Commission's own motion, for the following reasons, 
but only after a hearing before the Commission and/or a Hearing Examiner appointed by the 
Commission: 
 (1) In the event the real estate license of a director is suspended or revoked, the course of study 

shall automatically be revoked. 
 (2) In the event the real estate license of an instructor is suspended or revoked. 
 (3) Failure to comply with any portion of the Code or the rules of this Chapter. 
 (4) Failure of an approved entity to maintain a 50% or better pass/fail ratio on the Commission 

examinations. 
 (5) Falsification of records and/or application(s) filed with the Commission. 
 (6) False and/or misleading advertisement. 
 (7) Any other improper conduct or activity of the director, instructor, or entity as may be  

determined by the Commission to be unacceptable. 
  
 


