State of Oklahoma Statewide Purchase Card



The Purchase Card program began in 2000 as a pilot program and became permanent in 2001. It is authorized by the State of Oklahoma Central Purchasing Act (74 O.S., § 85.5 C. 15. & L.). The Director of Central Services promulgates the program rules.

Legislation passed in 2004 authorized the issuance of a Statewide Contract P/Card to make purchases of any amount from contracts designated as Statewide Contracts by the Sate Purchasing Director of the Department of Central Services. Legislation passed in 2008 allows the Statewide P/Card to be used to pay for regulated utilities.

Purchase Card Program Advantages

Use of the State Purchase Card results in time and cost savings by streamlining traditional governmental purchasing methods.

Purchases are encumbered in the State's financial system and paid electronically to the bank on a monthly basis; thus, reducing transaction costs and paperwork while, at the same time, providing audit trails and reports necessary for monitoring of transactions.

OVERVIEW

- Types of P/Cards Available:
 - Standard P-Card
 - Credit Card used for making low-dollar acquisitions (\$5000.00 or less)
 - Statewide Contract P-Card
 - Credit Card used for purchasing from contracts. issued by the DCS/Central Purchasing Division or designated by the State Purchasing Director as statewide contracts and regulated utilities. Purchases can be any amount.
 - Travel P-Card
 - Credit Card used to purchase airfare or lodging. The single purchase limit is \$5,000.00 for either travel or lodging.

- All participants in the P-Card Program are required to attend standard p-card training every five years.
- Statewide Contract Cardholders, Approving Officials, P-Card Administrators and Back-ups must attend a separate Statewide Contract P-Card Training

- Purchase Card Employee Agreement
 - Entity P-Card Administrators, Back-Up
 Administrators, Authorized Signers, Approving
 Officials, and Cardholders must sign the State of
 Oklahoma P-Card Employee Agreement form
 PRIOR to assuming their duties and being issued
 P-Cards.
 - An agreement form must be signed for every role a person holds in the program.

- Purchase Card Employee Agreement includes Terms and Conditions such as:
 - I accept full personal responsibility for the safekeeping of all p-cards assigned to me and no one, other than myself, is permitted to use the P-Card assigned to me.
 - I understand that the use of the p-card does not exempt me from requirements to obtain certain supplies from required sources as set forth in statutes and p-card procedures
 - I acknowledge that I will have personal liability for any inappropriate purchases made by me

- Purchase Card Employee Agreement (Continued)
 - I will use the card only within the limits and restrictions placed upon it
 - Failure to follow any of the terms and conditions may result in revocation of the card, disciplinary action, termination of employment, and/or criminal charges.
 - I shall surrender my P-Card(s) upon (1) transfer to another organization of State government; (2) termination of employment with the State; or, (3) upon request by my Supervisor, Agency Approving Official, Agency P-Card Administrator or the State Purchasing Director.
 - I agree to reimburse the State for any purchases made by me which are deemed inappropriate

Personnel serving as Entity P-Card Administrators, Back-up Administrators, Authorized Signers, Approving Officials and Cardholders must be full time or permanent part time (not temporary) employees of a state entity.

Cardholders

- The P-Card is typically issued to those employees who have the <u>need to actually purchase goods</u> and <u>services</u> for official use of the State.
- All P-Cards issued under this program are the property of the State of Oklahoma and shall be surrendered upon termination of employment.

6.0 P-Card Operations

Card Controls and Limits

■Statewide P-Card – There is no mandatory limit on purchasing amounts. The agency P-Card Administrator shall set the card limits for Statewide Contract P-Cards based on the agency's need or past usage. These limits should not be set inappropriately high. The card is to be used only for making purchases off of statewide contracts issued by Central Purchasing, contracts designated as statewide by the State Purchasing Director, or for regulated utilities.

Transaction Approval

Statewide Contract P-Card transactions must be approved in writing by the Approving Official prior to making a purchase of goods or services with the Statewide Contract P-Card. – The Cardholder shall update the note field on Pathway Net for each transaction posted with a brief description of the goods or services purchased including the Statewide Contract number.

Merchant Preferences

- Mandatory Statewide Contracts State entities shall make purchases from mandatory statewide contracts regardless of the purchase price unless the State Purchasing Director has issued a waiver to the entity
 - State Use Committee
 - Oklahoma Corrections Industries (if vendor is deemed lowest and best.) Cardholder shall obtain a quote from OCI and retain with the monthly transaction documentation.

6.0 P-Card Operations

- •Computer and telecommunication acquisitions require prior approval from OSF for the following:
 - ■Computer Acquisitions Computer acquisitions using the Statewide Contract P-Card when they exceed \$25,000 in value. (Legislation in 2009 changed this amount to \$10,000.00 upon the appointment by the Governor of a Chief Information Officer.)
 - •Telecommunication Acquisitions Telecommunication acquisitions at any dollar amount.

- Receipts shall be obtained for <u>ALL</u> purchases
- Receipts shall be itemized and give a detailed description of the item purchased Receipts must contain at a minimum (1) vendor; (2) date of Purchase; (3) description (4) unit price and quantity; and, (5) transaction total.
- If telephone or internet order, an order confirmation or packing slip may serve as the receipt

- Purchases by P-Card are subject to the receiving document requirements.
- Receiving documents must be signed, dated and marked "Received".
- Although not required, it is recommended the agency have a second person verify receipt of goods or services.
- The receiving documents should be kept by the cardholder for the monthly reconciliation process.

Returns, Credits and Disputed Transactions

- Disputes should first be resolved by cardholder contacting the merchant to receive a credit (credit will show up on subsequent statement)
- If Cardholder is unable to resolve the dispute with merchant, contact JPMorganChase for assistance
 - Must contact JPMorganChase no more than 30 days after the original transaction date.
 - JPMorganChase will investigate the dispute on the cardholder's behalf and assist in resolution – A transaction Dispute Form must be completed and transmitted to the bank. Keep a copy of the Transaction Dispute Form on file for reconciliation to the memo statement.

- Remember payment must be made in full even if an item is in dispute
- All documentation must be retained with transaction
- Credit will appear on a subsequent statement

5.0 FINANCIAL OPERATIONS

Inventory

State entities shall establish procedures to ensure items acquired using the P-Card and exceeding \$500.00 in cost, or a different amount if approved by the State Purchasing Director are added to the inventory schedule pursuant to Title 74 Section 110.1

6.0 P-Card Operations

Card Security – Use of the Statewide Contract P-Card is limited to the person whose name is embossed on the card. The card shall not be loaned to another person.

- In the event a cardholder will be absent from work for an extended period, the agency should place a temporary hold on the card on Pathway Net. (T2 status)
- •Although not required, it is recommended the cardholder not carry the P-Card on their person outside normal duty hours.

- Reconciling the Monthly Statement
 - Cardholder shall retain all transaction documentation
 - The cardholder shall generate an electronic memo statement (RPT 121) after closing of the bank's monthly billing cycle from the Pathway Net System.
 - Cardholder shall reconcile memo statement with appropriate documents (logs, receipts, receiving documents, credits, disputes, etc.) to verify purchases and returns are accurately listed on the statement

- Reconciling the Monthly Statement (Cont'd)
 - The statement shall be signed and dated by the cardholder verifying responsibility for purchases and proper reconciliation
 - Once signed and dated, the statement, along with all documentation must be submitted to the cardholder's designated State Entity Approving Official
 - Approving Official must be at least one level above their position and be current on their P-Card training

- Reconciling the Monthly Statement (Cont'd)
 - State Entity Approving Official shall review the cardholder's statement and supporting documentation for accuracy, completeness, appropriateness of the purchase and whether the transactions were conducted according to State statutes, rules, P-Card procedures and sound business practice

- Reconciling the Monthly Statement (Cont'd)
 - To indicate concurrence with the reconciled statement, the State Entity Approving Official shall sign and date the statement
 - Approving Official shall forward the statement and supporting documentation for payment

- If cardholder changes jobs, the P-Card shall be returned to the State Entity P-Card Administrator
 - Card must be canceled
 - User ID in Pathway Net must be locked (indicate date on P-Card Agreement)
 - Notify State P-Card Administrator of cancellation and account closure.

- If P-Card is lost or stolen, cardholder shall immediately notify JPMorganChase
- The telephone number (800-316-6056) is available24 hours per day
- Keep number separate from card location
- State Entity is responsible for purchases on lost or stolen P-Cards until bank has been notified
- Cardholder shall record the date and time JPMorgan Chase was notified as well as the name of the JPMorgan Chase customer service representative contacted. Cardholder must complete a Lost or Stolen P-Card Notification form and provide it to the Agency Entity P-Card Administrator.

CONTACT INFORMATION

- Gretta Lee
 - Phone: 405-522-1654
 - Fax: 405-522-4865
 - Email: gretta lee@dcs.state.ok.us

Vicki Spivey

Phone: 405-522-4963

Fax: 405-522-2865

Email: vicki_spivey@dcs.state.ok.us