Skip Nav Skip to Search
|FAQs | Contact | Site Index|
Applications are only accepted for companies who currently conduct at least 50 record checks per month. Please make application by letter to the OSBI: Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation Attention: Accounting 6600 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73116. Provide a monthly or yearly estimate of the number of record checks you request on average; a current credit report for your business; a Certificate of Good Standing from the Secretary of State's Office if your company is incorporated to do business in Oklahoma. For questions on establishing a billing account, please contact: Donna Billingsley, Accounting Supervisor firstname.lastname@example.org Phone: (405) 879-2655. For inquiries on an existing billing account, please contact: Karen Woodard, Accounts Receivable email@example.com Phone: (405) 879-2996.
It is mandatory for the requestor to provide the full name and date of birth of the person to be searched. All known aliases, which include maiden and previous married names, and the purpose of the request should also be provided. The person's race, sex, and social security number are optional, but, providing them will result in a more thorough search. A signed release is NOT required.
In state fingerprint searches may be requested in the same manner as described for name searches. The fee increases from $15.00 to $19.00 for each person searched and one set of inked fingerprints taken on an applicant fingerprint card must accompany the Criminal History Information Request Form or letter. The card must be signed and dated by the printing officer and the person being printed; all information blocks must be filled in completely and legibly. Printing service should be available through your local police department or sheriff's office. Fingerprint searches require a minimum of four weeks to complete; replies are made by mail.
We accept criminal history record check requests in person at our Headquarters location only; they must be submitted on completed OSBI Criminal History Request Forms. Record checks are also accepted through regular and priority mail or overnight express service on Criminal History Information Request Forms or by letter. All requests must be typed or legibly printed in ink. Office hours are from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding holidays. We are located in the Broadway Executive Office Park, one half block west of the Broadway Extension on Northwest 63rd in Oklahoma City. Our address is 6600 North Harvey, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73116; telephone (405) 848-6724.
We must charge a $15.00 processing fee for each person searched; the fee is set by state statute and cannot be waived or reduced. Acceptable methods of payment include cash (with in-person requests only), money orders, Visa, Mastercard, Discover, cashier's checks, certified checks, government checks or warrants, and business checks imprinted with the company name and address and made payable to the OSBI. Personal checks are NOT accepted.
In-person service for a single record check usually requires a wait of ten to fifteen minutes; as a general rule, multiple requests left at the customer window are completed on the same day or by the following day. Regular mail requests are processed and returned in one to three weeks from the date they are received. We try to provide same day or next day service for priority mail or overnight express requests submitted with prepaid returns. If requests by mail are not received within thirty to forty five days, please contact the Criminal History Reporting Unit at (405) 848-6724. Faxed credit card requests are generally processed within 72 hours of their receipt and require the customer to provide a dedicated fax line number for the return results.
We provide fingerprint-based arrest and/or conviction data for serious misdemeanors and felonies from the State of Oklahoma only. We do not provide criminal history information from other states. A national search of records maintained by the Federal Bureau of Investigation is not available to the general public through this agency or by direct contact with the FBI. We do not provide driving records.
The federal law is binding on all of the states. Part of the Brady Act lists conditions which prohibit persons from possessing any kind of firearm. Those conditions have been incorporated or tacked onto Oklahoma's law. Any person who has one of the following conditions may not possess a firearm, nor may he or she obtain an Oklahoma weapons license: (1) felons; (2) fugitives from justice (federal, state, or other country); (3) unlawful drug users or persons who are addicted to a controlled substance; (4) persons who have been committed to a mental institution; (5) illegal aliens; (6) persons discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions; (7) persons who have been U.S. citizens but have renounced their citizenship; (8) persons who are presently under a domestic restraining order; (9) persons who have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.
If you have a conviction on your record and you obtain an expungement from a district court, you may still be eligible to obtain a concealed handgun license. You should obtain the expungement before applying for a handgun license. If you apply for a license and then attempt to get an expungement, the expungement will not be retroactive; the OSBI will evaluate your handgun license application and consider whatever was on your criminal history record at the time you applied.
No. You may be represented by a lawyer, if you wish, but it is not necessary.
If you want to present any documents as exhibits, you should bring three copies of each one (your copy, one for the Hearing Examiner and one for the OSBI.) If you plan to have anyone testify for you, you should have them accompany you to the hearing.
You do not have to do anything. You do not actually have to attend the hearing if you do not desire to attend. The Administrative Hearing is held because you requested it or because the law requires that there be an independent review of the OSBI's decision. The Hearing Examiner's role is to decide whether or not the OSBI had evidence to support its action (license denial, suspension, revocation, or an administrative fine.) The burden of proof is on the OSBI. You do, however, have the opportunity to give opening and closing statements, cross examine any witnesses the OSBI presents, object to any exhibits or testimony, testify yourself and present witnesses and exhibits on your own behalf, if you wish.
Although the hearing is recorded and takes place in a courtroom, it is informal. You may wear casual clothing. You may not bring a weapon into the courtroom or into the building at all. The Hearing Examiner sits where a judge would sit in a regular trial. OSBI is seated at the left table. When your case is called, you should come up to the table on the right side of the room. While other cases are going on, you may have a seat in the back of the courtroom and observe. You may remain seated as you give testimony or present exhibits.
The hearing will move along in orderly segments. First, the Hearing Examiner will listen to opening arguments; then, the presentation of exhibits and testimony from both sides will take place. You will have the same opportunity as the OSBI to cross-examine any witnesses that the opposite side presents and to object to testimony or exhibits. Finally, each side will have the opportunity to offer closing arguments.
For persons who obtained their Oklahoma concealed weapons licenses between May 16, 1996 and November 30, 1998, the license will act as their waiver for the Brady Act and the gun seller will not have to conduct a National Instacheck search. Federal Firearms Licensees who sell firearms and have questions about the National Instacheck System (NICS) may call the FBI at (304) 625-2750.
Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wyoming. Please note, this is only for reference. If you are traveling, be sure to check with law enforcement in the states you plan to visit to ensure validity of the Oklahoma Concealed Carry License.
State of Oklahoma
OK.gov Help Desk | OK.gov Policies | About Oklahoma's Web Portal | Feedback Switch to Mobile View