

## **Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability**

## SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

## February 21, 2024, 4:00 P.M. State Department of Education Oliver Hodge Building 2500 N Lincoln Blvd. Room 121 Oklahoma City, OK 73105

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:	Kathryn Szallar, Ken Parker, Greg Hallman, Geoff Kingsley, and Secretary of Education Nellie Sanders
COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:	John Daniel and Ashlyn Fiegener
OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:	Office of Educational Quality and Accountability Staff: Dr. Megan Oftedal and Jennifer Gambrell
VISITORS:	Bryan Neal

Call to Order: Secretary Sanders called the meeting to order at 4:04 p.m.

**Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call:** Secretary Sanders asked for the roll call to be taken. Five Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Megan Oftedal: Dr. Megan Oftedal, Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

**Discussion and action**: Dr. Megan Oftedal, Executive Director. Approval of candidates for ELO scholarships. The Commission shall approve not more than one hundred Education Leadership Oklahoma applicants to participate in the program, 70-6-204.2. Mr. Parker made a motion to

Page 1 of 3

approve the candidates for ELO scholarships. Mrs. Szallar seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote.

Mr. Hallman:	approve	Mrs. Szallar:	approve
Secretary Sanders:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Mr. Kingsley:	approve		

**Executive Session Pursuant to 25 O.S. §307(B)(1):** The Commission voted to go into Executive Session as authorized by 25 O.S. §307(B)(1) to discuss "employment, hiring, appointment, promotion, demotion, disciplining, or resignation" for OEQA. Mr. Parker made a motion to go into Executive Session. Mr. Hallman seconded the motion. The vote to go into Executive Session passed per the following vote:

Mr. Hallman:	approve	Mrs. Szallar:	approve
Secretary Sanders:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Mr. Kingsley:	approve		

**Discussion and action:** §25-307B-1, to discuss "employment, hiring, appointment, promotion, demotion, disciplining, or resignation of any individual salaried public officer or employee" as follows:

- Director of Assessments
- Director of Operations and Special Projects
- Director of Program Accreditation and Review

Mrs. Szallar made a motion for hiring new positions. Mr. Parker seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Hallman:	approve
Secretary Sanders:	approve
Mr. Kingsley:	approve

Mrs. Szallar: approve Mr. Parker: approve

**Vote to return to Open Session:** Mr. Parker mad a motion to enter open session. Mrs. Szallar seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Hallman: approve Secretary Sanders: approve Mr. Kingsley: approve Mrs. Szallar:approveMr. Parker:approve

The meeting adjourned at 4:56 p.m. The minutes of the February 21<sup>st</sup>, 2024, special meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted

with corrections

on March 13th, 2024.

Signed:

Mrs. Nellie Sanders Secretary of Education Dr. Megan Oftedal, OEQA Executive Director

Page 3 of 3