

## **Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability**

## **REGULAR MEETING MINUTES**

## **BOARD RETREAT**

## January 17, 2024, 9:00 A.M. Oklahoma State Capitol 2300 N Lincoln Blvd, Room 100 Oklahoma City, OK 73105

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:	John Daniel, Geoff Kingsley, Ken Parker, Kathryn Szallar, Dr. Ashlyn Fiegener, and Greg Hallman
COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:	None
OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:	Office of Educational Quality and Accountability Staff: Dr. Megan Oftedal, Susan Pinson, Jennifer Gambrell, Jerry Shay, David Kurt, Abby Murphey, Kristen Hsu, Nicholas Sayegh
VISITORS:	Dr. Bob Sommers and Tatyana Blakemore

**Call to Order:** Mr. Ken Parker called the meeting to order at 9:21 a.m.

**Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call:** Mr. Parker asked for the roll call to be taken. Six Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Megan Oftedal: Dr. Megan Oftedal, OEQA Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Page 1 of 3

**Approval of Minutes from the November 15th Commission Meeting:** Mr. Parker made a motion to approve the minutes of the November 15, 2023, Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Hallman seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Szallar:	approve
Mr. Kingsley:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Dr. Fiegener:	approve	Mr. Hallman:	approve

- A. Update on Transformation Proposal and Progress to Date: Megan Oftedal, OEQA Executive Director
- B. Commission retreat expectations and introduction of facilitator: Ken Parker, CEQA Chair
- C. Retreat workshop Robert Sommers, Facilitator
  - 1. Welcome
  - 2. Review key recommendations from Transformation Proposal
    - What Oklahomans want
    - Impactful P-20+ information
    - Quality initiative in P-20 education system
    - Accelerate innovation
    - Enhance teacher quality and availability
    - What Oklahomans want
  - 3. Establish a results-focused aspirational mission
  - 4. Craft an exciting vision
  - 5. Agree to a set of organizational values
  - 6. Define our customers/stakeholders
  - 7. Discuss possible long-term key performance indicators
  - 8. Feedback on retreat
  - 9. Next steps for the Commission and staff
- D. Consideration, discussion, and possible action related to aspiration goals for the Commission and/or OEQA.
- E. Comments by Commission members or staff

New Business: None

Page 2 of 3

The meeting adjourned at 3:53 p.m. The minutes of the January 17, 2024, regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted

with corrections

on March 13th, 2024.

Signed:

Mrs. Nellie Sanders Secretary of Education Dr. Megan Oftedal, OEQA Executive Director

Page 3 of 3