Non-Mining Blasting Program
The Oklahoma Legislature under Title 63, § 123.1 enacted the “Oklahoma Explosives and Blasting Regulation Act” on November 1, 1995.
The Oklahoma Department of Mines was assigned and given the responsibility for the administration, regulation and enforcement of all blasting operations or activities, and the storage and use of all blasting agent and explosives by any person, which is not located within the area of a mine operation or site.
It shall be unlawful for any person to store or use any blasting agents or explosives, or conduct, supervise or control a blasting operation in Oklahoma without first complying with the provisions of the Oklahoma Explosives and Blasting Regulation Act and rules openly declared by the Oklahoma Mining Commission.
Prior to purchasing explosives in the State of Oklahoma, an individual or company must obtain a Blasting Permit or an approved Blasting Permit Exemption from the Oklahoma Department of Mines. All explosive distributors are required to view the permits or exemptions prior to selling explosives. Failure to follow these procedures could result in a fine issued by the Department.
The Non-Mining Blasting Program regulates the purchase and use of explosives in compliance with this act. All non-mining blasting operations which utilize explosives must have approved Blasting Plans on file.
For all Blasting and Exemption Forms please click here.
Blasting Permits - Application Process
To obtain a blasting permit a notarized application must be filled out along with proof of liability insurance, copies of current Oklahoma blaster certifications, and the permit fee. Upon completion of the application process, the complete and notarized application will be posted at the Oklahoma Department of Mines, 2915 North Classen Blvd., Suite 213, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73106 for public review for two (2) weeks. During this two-week period, the application is reviewed for adequacy and completeness.
Blasting permit holders must submit a detailed blasting plan prior to each blast. In the event of an emergency blast, a detailed explanation of circumstances and reason for an emergency must be submitted to the Department. Also, a Notice of Completion for each blasting job must be submitted to the Department no later the forty-eight (48) hours following the blast.
Blasting permits are subject to inspections and possible Notice of Violations if the necessary procedures are not followed. A Notice of Violation can result in a possible monetary fine when applicable. Blasting permits must be renewed annually. An application for renewal of a blasting permit shall be filed with the Department at least 45 days before the expiration of the permit involved. Each application for the use of explosives or blasting agent permit pursuant to the Department shall be accompanied by a fee. The fees shall be as follows:
- One Time Permit fee will be $50.00. (one time use from date of issuance)
- Limited Time Permit fee will be $100.00. (shall not exceed more than four (4) months from date of issuance)
- Continuous Permit fee will be $150.00. (requires renewal annually from issuance date)
To view of list of all Blasting Permits with Addresses click here.
Blasting Exemptions - Application Process
To obtain a blasting exemption a notarized application must be completed and accompanied by a criminal history background check, or proof of current Oklahoma blaster certification, and the $25.00 application fee. To obtain a record check form from the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI), go to http://www.ok.gov/osbi/documents/RecordCheckForm.pdf. You can also contact the Oklahoma Miners Training Institute (OMTI) to receive information regarding an Oklahoma Blaster Certification at (918) 465-1872. To view the OMTI Blaster Certification class schedule go to http://ok.gov/mines under the Oklahoma Miner Training Institute tab click on newsletter.
Permit Exemptions fall under eight categories:
- Category 1 Oil & Gas Exploration
- Category 2 Mining Operations
- Category 3 Non-Commercial Use
- Category 4 Incidental or construction, as part of Federal,
State or Local Government financed highway or other construction.
- Category 5 Duly qualified bond technicians
- Category 6 State municipalities or counties
- Category 7 Department of Transportation
- Category 8 Contractors of persons using explosives or blasting as an
incidental part of government financed highway construction
To view a list of all Blasting Exemptions with Addresses click here.