Non-Mining Blasting Program
NON-MINING BLASTING PROGRAM
The Oklahoma Department of Mines blasting program regulates the use of explosives.
All mining operations which utilize explosives must have approved Blasting Plans on file in their mining permits. These locations are regulated by the mining division of ODM. All other uses of explosives must comply with the "Oklahoma Explosives and Blasting Regulation Act" of Title 63. The Non-Mining Blasting Program regulates the purchase and use of explosives in compliance with this act.
Prior to purchasing explosives in the State of Oklahoma, an individual or company must obtain a Blasting Permit or an approved Blasting Permit Exemption from ODM. All explosives distributors are required to view the permits or exemptions prior to selling explosives. Failure to follow these procedures could result in a fine issued by the Department.
Blasting permits may be obtained for three different time frames. A permit fee is required for each request. For a Continuous Use Permit a fee of $150.00 is required. For a Limited Time Permit a fee of $100.00 is required and for a One Time Permit a fee of $50.00 is required (460:25-3-9).
The process for obtaining a blasting permit requires completing an application for a blasting permit, including providing proof of liability insurance, copies of current Oklahoma blaster certifications, and an annual fee. Upon receipt of a complete and notarized application, the application is posted at the Oklahoma City office for public review for two (2) weeks. During this two-week period, the application is reviewed for adequacy and completeness.
Blasting permit holders must submit a detailed blasting plan prior to each blast, for review by the Blasting Inspector. The Administrator of the Minerals Division reviews the Inspector's recommendations and approves or modifies the request. In the event of an emergency blast, a detailed explanation of circumstances and reason for an emergency must be submitted. A notice of completion for each blasting job must be submitted to the Department no later than 48 hours following the blast.
Blasting permits are subject to inspections as well as issuance of violations and possible monetary fines when applicable. Blasting permits must be renewed annually.
The process for obtaining a blasting exemption requires completing an application for permit exemption. Exemptions may fall under one or more of eight exemption categories. Applicants must be able to justify the categories for which they apply.
Receipt of a completed and notarized exemption application must include an annual fee of $25.00 (460:25-10-9) as well as a copy of a Criminal History background check from the OSBI, or proof of current Oklahoma blaster certification.
An applicant may list as many categories as are applicable. The seven categories of blasting exemptions are:
Category 1 - Oil & gas exploration
Category 2 - Mining operations
Category 3 - Non-commercial use
Category 4 - Incidental or construction, as part of Federal, State or Local government financed
highway or other construction
Category 5 - Duly qualified bomb technicians
Category 6 - State municipalities or counties
Category 7 - Department of Transportation
Category 8 - Contractors of persons using explosives or blasting as an incidental part of government
financed highway construction (new regulation adopted in 2004)
Blasting exemptions generally are not required to submit blasting plans and notices of completion unless they fall under the exemption for Categories # 6 and # 7. Categories # 6 and # 7 do not have the option of submitting an OSBI criminal history check.
These blasting exemptions must instead submit proof of current Oklahoma blaster certification. Blasting exemptions must be renewed on an annual basis.