spacer image
Skip Nav Skip to Search
Contact Us
spacer image
get adobe reader


The U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced awards to more than 1,100 local police and fire departments - including 30 in Oklahoma - totaling more than $20 million as part of the second phase of the fiscal year 2005 Commercial Equipment Direct Assistance Program (CEDAP).

"CEDAP supports local partners with essential equipment and training that they might not otherwise afford," said Tracy A. Henke, Assistant Secretary for Grants and Training (G&T).  "This program strengthens our country's overall preparedness by helping to equip our first responders with the tools they need to protect their communities, and themselves, during an emergency."

CEDAP helps meet the equipment needs of smaller jurisdictions by providing communications interoperability, information sharing, chemical detection, sensors, personal protective equipment, technology and training in using the equipment, devices and technology.  Awards are made to law enforcement and emergency responder agencies not currently eligible for funding through the DHS's Urban Area Securtiy Initiative grant program.

With nearly 4,000 applicants competing for awards, the program is highly competitive.  In August, G&T will provide training to the recipients on the proper usage of their awarded equipment.  CEDAP awarded $10 million worth of equipment and training during phase I.


FY 2005 Phase II Oklahoma Recipients

Awarded May 17, 2006

 1.  Ada Fire Department
 2.  Altus Fire Department
 3.  Broken Bow Fire Department
 4.  Broken Bow Police Department
 5.  Chickasha, City of
 6.  Comanche Police Department
 7.  Cordell Fire Department
 8.  Dewey County Emergency Management
 9.  Enid Fire Department
10.  Geary Police Department
11.  Grady County
12.  Harrah Fire Department
13.  Latimer County Emergency Management
14.  LeFlore County Sheriff?s Department
15.  Marlow Police Department
16.  McAlester Fire/EMS
17.  Noble County Emergency Management
18.  Owasso Fire Department
19.  Pauls Valley, City of
20.  Perkins Fire Department
21.  Ponca City Fire Department
22.  Ponca City Police Department
23.  Sand Springs Fire Department
24.  Slaughterville Fire Department
25.  Texas County Emergency Management
26.  Tuttle Police Department
27.  Warr Acres Fire Department
28.  Wewoka Fire/EMS
29.  White Eagle Police Department
30.  Woodward Police Department


To see the entire list of FY 05 Phase II recipients click here.