spacer image
Skip Nav Skip to Search
Contact Us
spacer image
get adobe reader


The NIMS National Standard Curriculum: Training Development Guidance outlines the system's ICS concepts and principles, management characteristics, organizations and operations, organizational element titles and recommendations for a model curriculum. It also provides an evaluation checklist for content that may be used to make sure that ICS training meets the "as taught by DHS" standard. The guidance document is available to download from the NIMS Homepage at

The model NIMS ICS curriculum organizes four levels of training - ICS-100, Introduction to ICS; ICS-200, Basic ICS; ICS-300, Intermediate ICS; and ICS-400, Advanced ICS. ICS training provided by the Emergency Management Institute, the National Fire Academy, the National Wildfire Coordinating Group, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Coast Guard follow this model.

According to the NIMS Integration Center, emergency management and response personnel already ICS trained do not need retraining if their previous training is consistent with the DHS standard. This would include ICS courses managed, administered or delivered by the Emergency Management Institute, the National Fire Academy, NWCG, USDA, EPA or the U.S. Coast Guard, the NIMS Center said.

For more information about NIMS ICS e-mail or call (202) 646-3850.

Related Topics