spacer image
Skip Nav Skip to Search
Contact Us
spacer image
get adobe reader


OKLAHOMA CITY ? OKOHS received more than $32 million earlier this year from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Office for Domestic Preparedness (ODP) to fund terrorism prevention programs in the state of Oklahoma.  Governor Henry and OKOHS determined the funds should be prioritized and divided into several programs.  The Governor?s Committee on Homeland Security Funding recommended the funds be divided as follows:


I.  State Homeland Security Program (SHSP)  $23,849,940

A.  Interoperable Communications Project  $15,953,140

A statewide multi-phase interoperable communications system is being designed and implemented.  The system will be in the 700/800 MHZ frequency band, APCO Project 25 compliant and consistent with the new federal communications standards.

Subgrantees:  City of Lawton, Comanche County, City of Chickasha, City of Moore, EMSA (Oklahoma City), City of Coweta

B.  Local Regional Response System  $4,190,000

Fnds will be used for the completion of the statewide WMD regional response trailers.  Only those communities that previously received regional response trailers through the First Responder Equipment Program are eligible for these funds.

C.    Response Equipment  $1,670,167

These funds were allocated to the local government for purchase of equipment for Responders.

Subgrantees Grant Award
Adair County Emergency Management   
$  22,118
Agra Fire Department $  22,118
Antlers Police Department $  22,118
Atoka, City of $  22,118
Beckham County Emergency Management $  22,118
Braman Volunteer Fire Department $  22,118
Carter Fire Department $  22,118
Cashion Fire Department $  11,250
Chance Community Volunteer Fire Department $  22,118
Collinsville, City of $  22,118
Dewey Fire Department $  22,118
Erick Ambulance Service $  22,118
Garber Emergency Management $  22,118
Garvin Rural Volunteer Fire Department $  22,118
Geary, City of $  22,118
Glenpool Emergency Management $  22,118
Greer County $  22,118
Harper County LEPC $  22,118
Hooker Police Department $  22,118
Indiahoma Volunteer Fire Department $  22,118
Jennings Rural Firefighters Association $  22,118
Johnston County $  15,528
Kiefer Fire Department $   7,365
Liberty Volunteer Fire Department $   3,035
Major County Sheriff's Office $  18,953
Mangum Police Department $  22,118
Mid County Fire Department $   8,926
*Oklahoma City, City of $300,000
Onapa Fire Department $  22,118
Parkview EMS $  22,118
Perkins Police Department $  22,118
Piedmont Police Department $  22,118
Rattan, Town of $  22,118
Ringling Police Department $   1,983
Sayre, City of $  22,118
Southern Oklahoma Ambulance $  22,118
Stonewall, Town of $  22,118
Sweetwater Fire Department $  22,118
Texas County $  22,118
Texola Fire Department $  22,118
Tri Community Fire Department $  22,118
*Tulsa, City of $300,000
Tulsa County Sheriff's Office $  22,101
Tushka Fire Department $   7,560
Verdigris Fire Protection $  22,118
Watonga, City of $  22,118
Westville Emergency Management $  22,118
Wetumka Emergency Management $  22,118
Wewoka Fire Department $  22,118
Woodward County LEPC $  22,118

* Funds will be used to finish USAR trailers awarded last year.

D.  State Physical Security Enhancement  $1,471,400
These funds are being used to harden critical state sites and infrastructure. 

E.  Tribal Collaboration  $315,232
Tribal Governments were invited to apply for funds to assist in the coordination with local government responders.


Cherokee Nation EMS Program $ 91,560
Choctaw Nation $ 13,442
Cheyenne-Arapaho Tribe $ 79,095
Iowa Tribe $131,134

F.  State Terrorist Incident Prevention  $250,000
Funds will be used to convert the State Information Network (SIN) to an Internet-based system.  This is a necessary component of the Information Sharing Network funded under the LETP funds.

II.  Law Enforcement Terrorism Prevention (LETP)  $7,031,200

A.  Information Sharing Network  $4,700,000

he Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation, in cooperation with the OKOHS, the Oklahoma Sheriffs' Association and the Oklahoma Chiefs of Police Association, is developing a statewide information-sharing network.  Recipients will receive standardized hardware and software along with any computer equipment needed to participate in the system. 


Currently, more than 130 participants have been identified.

 B.  Target Hardening  $2,331,200

These funds will be used by local law enforcement agencies to harden critical infrastructure sites. 


Alfalfa County Sheriff's Office $  12,000
Oklahoma City, City of $513,157
Dewey County Sheriff's Office $   7,500
Oklahoma County Sheriff's Office $709,466
Garfield County Sheriff's Office $  11,600
Pawnee County Sheriff's Office $  20,000
Grady County Sheriff's Office $  10,703
Seminole County $   2,000
Jackson County $  67,633
Tulsa, City of $191,250
Kay County Sheriff's Office $  53,799
Tulsa County Sheriff's Office $187,900
Lawton Police Department $  40,326
Tulsa Police Department $457,180
Logan County Sheriff's Office $   4,997
Washita County Sheriff's Office $  17,684
Major County Sheriff's Office $  12,000
Woodward County Sheriff's Office $  12,000


III.  Citizens Corps  $510,000

These funds are being used to continue enhancing the Medical Reserve Corps and the Community Emergency Response Teams (CERT) program across the State of Oklahoma.  The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management is coordinating subgrantees.