Oklahoma, www.OK.gov <{$map[0].NAME}>

Contact  |  A-Z Health Index  |  Events & Meetings

get adobe reader

Fill-in-Blank News Release for County Health Departments

Back-to-School Immunizations

For Release:               (Date)

Contact:                     (_____) County Health Department

                                    (Administrator)

                                    (Phone Number)

“Back-to-School” Immunization Clinics Scheduled

Many school districts will be opening in early August this year, so now is the time to make arrangements for getting back-to-school immunizations. Clinics are in full swing at the _____ County Health Department. Parents and caregivers should check their children’s immunization records to be certain they are current for the upcoming school year. If not, now is the time to schedule an appointment with your health care provider or visit your county health department.

The following back-to-school immunization clinics have been scheduled by the _____ County Health Department: (Insert the date, time, and place of childhood immunization clinics scheduled in your county or area.)

“Vaccinating our children against preventable diseases is one of the most important ways parents and caregivers can protect their children,” said _____ County Health Department Administrative Director _____.  “When we don’t vaccinate, we leave the door open for the return of diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which continue to be a threat to babies, children, and adults in the United States.  School vaccination laws have helped eliminate major vaccine-preventable diseases. So, avoid the rush and take the time now to schedule your children for their back-to-school vaccinations.”

The following immunizations are required for children entering childcare or school.

         New requirement for all students entering the 7th grade:

  • A Tdap booster to protect against whooping cough, tetanus and diphtheria

   Children entering childcare should be up-to-date for their age with:

  • Hepatitis A vaccine, with the first dose due at 12 months of age and the second dose due six to 18 months later;
  • Three doses of hepatitis B vaccine by 19 months of age;
  • One dose of varicella (chickenpox) vaccine due at 12 to 15 months of age; One dose of MMR (measles, mumps, rubella vaccine) due at 12 to 15 months of age;
  • Four doses of DTaP at 2, 4, 6, and 12 to 18 months of age;
  • Three doses of IPV (polio vaccine) at 2, 4, and 6 to 18 months of age;
  • Three to four doses of Haemophilus influenzae type b vaccine (Hib) at 2, 4, 6, and 12 to 15  months of age or 2, 4, and 12 to 15  months of age depending on the type of Hib vaccine used; and  
  • One to four doses of PCV (pneumococcal conjugate vaccine) at 2, 4, 6 and 12 to 15 months of age.

   Children entering pre-school must be up-to-date for all of the vaccines required for childcare, except Hib and PCV.

   All children entering kindergarten through the twelfth grade in Oklahoma are required to have:

  • Two doses of MMR vaccine
  • Two doses of hepatitis A vaccine
  • Two or three doses of hepatitis B vaccine (Adolescents 11 through 15 years of age can receive a two-dose series.)
  • Five doses of DTaP/DTP
  • Four doses of polio
  • One dose of varicella vaccine
  • One dose of Tdap is required for all children entering the seventh grade.

Even though the following vaccines are not required to attend school, they are strongly recommended for adolescents ages 11 years and older:

  • A second dose of varicella vaccine 
  • Meningococcal conjugate vaccine (MCV4) because the risk for this disease increases from 15 through 24 years of age
  • Human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine for girls and boys to protect against viruses that cause 70 percent of cervical cancer and 90 percent of genital warts in the U.S.

Please note that  ____ County Health Department does not have MCV4 or HPV vaccine available for teens who have health insurance.  

College students in Oklahoma are also required to present vaccination records. All college students are required to have MMR and hepatitis B vaccines. First-time college enrollees who will live on campus are also required to receive the meningococcal vaccine (MCV4). The college requirements do not apply to students enrolling only in courses delivered via the Internet or through distance learning in which the student is not required to attend class on campus.

For more information, call the _____ County Health Department at (phone number).

 

 

###

Creating a State of Health Logo