Oklahoma, www.OK.gov <{$map[0].NAME}>

Contact  |  A-Z Health Index  |  Events & Meetings

get adobe reader

August 6, 2010

Message of Condolence for Dr. Michael Morgan
From the Oklahoma State Board of Health and Oklahoma State Department of Health

Members of the State Board of Health and employees of the Oklahoma State Department of Health were deeply saddened to learn of the death of Dr. Michael Morgan. Dr. Morgan was a member of the State Board of Health and former Chief of Dental Health Service for the Oklahoma State Department of Health.

“We extend our sympathies to Dr. Morgan’s family, friends, and colleagues around the country,” said Board of Health President Dr. Jenny Alexopulos.  “His passion for reaching out to Oklahoma’s citizens to improve their oral health, especially children and other underserved populations, was an inspiration. He was highly respected by his peers and regarded as a visionary leader.”

Dr. Morgan was appointed to the Board of Health in April 2009, following his retirement from the Oklahoma State Department of Health in 2007. He had 40 years of service at the state health department, with 32 of those years serving as the Chief of Dental Health Service, where he lead the state’s public health dental program that included dental health education, tobacco use prevention, dental clinical care, community water fluoridation, and the dental loan repayment program. When he retired, he held the longevity record for Oklahoma and the nation as the longest-serving State Public Health Dental Director.

“Dr. Morgan was a valued member of our public health family,” said State Health Commissioner Dr. Terry L. Cline. “His exceptional work in community water fluoridation, assessing the trends of oral health in Oklahoma’s children, and early leadership in the agency’s tobacco use prevention efforts will serve as a legacy of his commitment to public health.”

In 2008, Dr. Morgan was recognized by his peers when he received the Oklahoma Dental Association’s “Dentist of the Year” award. He had served as president of the National Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, the Oklahoma Dental Foundation, and the Oklahoma Public Health Association.


Creating a State of Health Logo