||Contact | A-Z Health Index | Events & Meetings|
Vaccine Information Statements (CDC web site) It's federal law! (IAC web site) You must give your patients Vaccine Information Statements.
Measles for Healthcare Professionals (CDC web site)
CDC has added two new parent-friendly resources to their Provider Resources for Vaccine Conversations with Parents (CDC web site) suite of materials:
Children from birth through 18 years of age in the following categories are eligible for Vaccines For Children vaccines:
1. Complete the following packet online: 2015 VFC Provider Enrollment Packet (640k.pdf)
3. Send the signed originals of the forms to:
Oklahoma State Department of Health - IMM Service
4. Begin recording your refrigerator and freezer temperatures. You can use the Oklahoma VFC Refrigerator and Freezer Temperature Log (256k.pdf) Refrigerator and freezer temperatures must be within the required range to store vaccines.
Important Guidelines for Vaccine Storage Units:
5. Complete the 2 VFC Orientation visits. After your forms are received in our office, you will be contacted by a representative of the Immunization Service to schedule two orientation visits:
6. Receive your first shipment of vaccine.
Clinics enrolling in the VFC Program will receive a VFC Provider Resource Guide and regular visits by an Immunization Field Consultant.
Oklahoma Vaccines For Children Program Provider Resource Guide
January 2014 Oklahoma Immunization Update (49.k.pdf)
February 2014 Oklahoma Immunization Update (96k.pdf)
For editions prior to 2014 contact the Immunization Service at (405) 271-4073
ACIP recommends all 11-12 year old males receive human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine. View the press briefing here on the CDC website . Quadrivalent HPV vaccine is available through the VFC Program for males ages 9 through 18 years.
One dose of Tdap vaccine is now required for all students attending the 7th grade in Oklahoma. This requirement became effective in the 2011-2012 school year.
Q: Are all children enrolled in SoonerCare/Medicaid programs automatically VFC eligible?
A: Yes, all children from birth through 18 years of age who are covered by SoonerCare/Medicaid are considered VFC eligible because of their Medicaid status. Q: If a child is eligible for insurance and the parents choose not to insure the child, would the child be eligible for VFC vaccine?
A: If the child has no health insurance on the day he/she presents at the office for immunizations, regardless of the reason, the child would be VFC eligible because he/she is uninsured. Q: If a VFC-eligible child starts a vaccine series (such as hepatitis B) at age 18, can the series be completed using VFC vaccine after the child turns 19?
A: No. Children are eligible to participate in the VFC program only through age 18 years regardless of the child’s immunization status (series completed or series not completed) when they age out of VFC. Q: What do you mean by "underinsured?"
A: Underinsured means your child has health insurance, but it won’t cover the vaccine(s) because: • It doesn’t cover any vaccines. • It doesn’t cover certain vaccines. • It covers vaccines, but it has a fixed dollar limit or cap for vaccines. Once that fixed dollar amount has been reached, your child is eligible.
Copyright © State of Oklahoma