Oklahoma, www.OK.gov
Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology - Home
spacer image
Skip Nav Skip to Search
FAQs  |  Contact  |  Site Map  |  Calendar
spacer image
 
get adobe reader

 Licensing & Fee Information


Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology  and Barbering(OSBCB)
2401 NW 23rd, Suite 84
Oklahoma City, OK   73107

Location
OSBCB is located in Shepherd Mall.  Please drive to the back of the mall where you will see our sign on the wall of the mall facing east.

Hours of Operation
Daily from 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, excluding legal State Holidays and during inclement weather.
 


 
General Licensing Qualifications

  • Completion of an approved apprentice program, or
  • Completion of an approved course of study in a licensed school of this state, or
  • Completion of study in another state or country that is equivalent to the study and training required in this state, plus 3 years of licensed experience.

 
License Renewal Information

  • Renewal fees are payable by cashier's check, money order or business check.  No personal or temporary checks are accepted
  • The term of your license is one year - renewable on the last day of your birthday month, annually.
  • The renewal fee applies (see information below about your specific renewal fee).
  • A renewal application form (that is sent to you each year and is attached to your license) is due. If you do not have this form, add an additional $5 to the applicable fees.
  • If you have no form, Include a note requesting renewal of your license with your money order or cashier's check that includes your name, mailing address, file number (if this information is available to you) and your social security number.
  • If your license has expired over two months, include a $10.00 late fee. We will refer to the postmark date on your envelope to determine if the late fee is applicable.


Apprentice Requirements

  • Has submitted evidence of need and been approved by the Board
  • Apprentice is required by law to obtain training under a licensed Instructor
  • Training to be conducted in an approved licensed establishment.
  • Complete 3000 hours of study for Cosmetology, 1200 hours for Facialist, or 1200 hours for Manicurist,  1500 hours for Barber
  • Is over the age of sixteen (16)
  • Has completed at least the eighth grade

Term of License
One year - renewable by the last day of birthday month annually

Fees

  • Exam Fee - $15.00
  • Barber Exam Fee - $35.00
  • Application/Initial Fee - $25.00
  • License Renewal Fee - $25.00
  • Delinquency Fee (license expired over two months) - $10.00


Cosmetology License Requirements

Cosmetology means any one or combination or practices generally and usually performed by and known as the occupation of beauticians, beauty culturists, beauty operators, cosmeticians, cosmetologists or hairdressers, or of any other person holding herself or himself out as practicing cosmetology by whatever designation and within the meaning of this Act and in or upon whatever place or premises. Cosmetology shall include, but not be limited to, any one or combination of the following practices: bleaching, cleansing, curling, cutting, coloring, dressing, removing, singeing, styling, waving, or similar work, upon the hair of any person by any means, and with hands or mechanical or electrical apparatus or appliances. Nothing in this Act shall be construed to prohibit the use of any of said devices for the non-permanent removal of hair from the human body without puncturing the skin, or by the use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams, massaging, cleansing, stimulating, exercising, beautifying, or similar work, the scalp, face, neck, arms, bust, or upper part of the body, or manicuring the nails of any person, exclusive of such of the foregoing practices as come within the scope of the practice of the healing arts as provided by the laws of this state

  • Completion of 1500 hours of study or equivalent number of credit hours
  • Pass a written and practical exam
  • Is over the age of sixteen (16)
  • Has completed at least the eighth grade

Term of License
One year - renewal required on the last day of birthday month annually.

Fees

  • Exam fee - $15.00
  • Application/Initial Fee - $25.00
  • License Renewal Fee - $25.00
  • Delinquency Fee (License expired over two months) - $10.00

Barbering License Requirements

"Barbering" means any one or any combination of the following practices, when done upon the upper part of the human body for cosmetic purposes and when done for payment either directly or indirectly for the general public, constitutes the practice of barbering, to wit; Shaving or trimming the beard or cutting the hair; giving facial or scalp massages or treatment with oils, creams, lotions or other preparations, either by hand or mechanical appliances; singeing, shampooing or applying lighteners or color to the hair or applying hair tonics; applying cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, powders, oils, clays or lotions to scalp, face, neck or upper part of the body; and removing superfluous hair from the face, neck or upper part of the body;

  • Completion of 1500 hours of study or equivalent number of credit hours
  • Pass a written and practical exam
  • Is over the age of sixteen (16)
  • Has completed at least the eighth grade

Term of License

One year - Renewal required on the last day of June annually.

Fees

  • Exam fee - $35.00
  • Application/Initial Fee - $25.00
  • License Renewal Fee - $25.00
  • Delinquency Fee (if not renewed by July 1) - $50.00

 

Cosmetician License Requirements

Cosmetician means a person licensed by the Board to perform patron services limited to hair arranging and application of makeup, including, but not limited to, using hairstyling tools and products. Services must be performed in a licensed establishment limited to photo studios and cosmetic studios

  • Complete 600 hours of study or equivalent number of credit hours
  • Pass a written and practical exam
  • Is over the age of sixteen (16)
  • Has completed the eighth grade

Term of License
One year- renewal required on the last day of birthday month annually

Fees

  • Exam Fee - $15.00
  • Application/Initial Fee - $25.00
  • License Renewal Fee - $25.00
  • Delinquency Fee (License expired over two months) - $10.00


Demonstrator License Requirements

Demonstrator
means a person who is not licensed in the state as a Cosmetologist or Instructor and who demonstrates any cosmetic preparation is declared to be a Demonstrator and shall be required to obtain a license from the Board before making any such demonstrations.  Demonstrators do not charge for their services.

Term of License
One year - renewable each year on the last day of birthday month annually

Fees

  • Application/Initial Fee - $20.00
  • License Renewal - $20.00
  • Delinquency Fee (license expired over two months) - $10.00


Esthetician/Facialist License Requirements

Facial Operator means any person who gives facials for compensation

  • Complete 600 hours of study or equivalent number of credit hours
  • Pass a written and practical exam
  • Is over the age of sixteen (16)
  • Has completed the eighth grade

Term of License
One year- renewal required on the last day of birthday month annually

Fees

  • Exam Fee - $15.00
  • Application/Initial Fee - $25.00
  • License Renewal Fee - $25.00
  • Delinquency Fee (License expired over two months) - $10.00

 

Facial/Esthetics Instructor

Facial/Esthetics Instructor means a person licensed by the Board as a qualified teacher of the art and science of facial and esthetics theory and practice

  • Must hold a current Oklahoma Facial Operator license
  • Complete 1000 hours of study, or 500 hours if 2 years of recent licensed experience is verified (or equivalent number of credit hours)
  • Pass a written and practical exam 
  • Hold a High School Diploma or a General Education Development Certificate
  • Is over the age of sixteen

Term of License
One year - renewal required on the last day of birthday month annually

Term of License

  • Exam Fee - $15.00
  • Application/Initial Fee - $30.00
  • License Renewal Fee - $30.00
  • Delinquency Fee (license expired over two months) - $10.00

 

Hairbraiding Technician License Requirements

Hairbraiding Technician means a person licensed by the Board to perform hairbraiding techniques, and hair extensions in a licensed cosmetology establishment

  • Complete 600 hours of study or equivalent number of credit hours
  • Pass a written and practical exam
  • Is over the age of sixteen (16)
  • Has completed the eighth grade

Term of License
One year- renewal required on the last day of birthday month annually

Fees

  • Exam Fee - $15.00
  • Application/Initial Fee - $25.00
  • License Renewal Fee - $25.00
  • Delinquency Fee (License expired over two months) - $10.00

 

Instructor License Requirements

Master Instructor means a person who gives instruction in cosmetology or any practices thereof

  • Most hold a current Oklahoma Cosmetology or Barber license
  • Complete 1000 hours of study, or 500 hours if 2 years of recent licensed experience is verified (or equivalent number of credit hours)
  • Pass a written and practical exam
  • Hold a High School Diploma or a General Education Development Certificate
  • Is over the age of sixteen

Term of License
One year - renewal required on the last day of birthday month annually

Fees

  • Exam Fee - $15.00
  • Application/Initial Fee - $30.00
  • License Renewal Fee - $30.00/$50.00 for Barber Instructor
  • Delinquency Fee - (license expired over two months) - $10.00 for Master Cosmetology Instructor/$100.00 for Barber Instructor after July 1

 

Manicurist License Requirements

Manicurist means a person who gives manicures, gives pedicures, or applies artificial nails

  • Complete 600 hours of study or equivalent number of credit hours
  • Pass a written and practical exam
  • Is over the age of sixteen (16)
  • Has completed the eighth grade

Term of License
One year- renewal required on the last day of birthday month annually

Fees

  • Exam Fee - $15.00
  • Application/Initial Fee - $25.00
  • License Renewal Fee - $25.00
  • Delinquency Fee (License expired over two months) - $10.00

 

Manicurist Instructor License Requirements

Manicurist/Nail Technician Instructor means a person licensed by the Board as a qualified teacher of the art and science of nail technology theory and practice

  • Must hold a current Oklahoma Manicurist license
  • Complete 1000 hours of study, or 500 hours if 2 years of recent licensed experience is verified (or equivalent number of credit hours)
  • Pass a written and practical exam
  • Hold a High School Diploma or a General Education Development Certificate 
  • Is over the age of sixteen (16)

Term of License
One year- renewal required on the last day of birthday month annually