Oklahoma, www.OK.gov
Oklahoma State Board of Examiners of Psychologists - OSBEP Home Page
spacer image
Skip Nav Skip to Search
FAQs  |  Contact
spacer image
 
get adobe reader get adobe reader get adobe reader get adobe reader
email icon Email   |   print icon Print  

OSBEP header

BECOME A LICENSED PSYCHOLOGIST

 


                                                                            

 REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE
 

  1. Must be a graduate of a doctoral psychology program from a regionally accredited university.  If you received your degree after January 1, 1997, it must be from an APA accredited program.
  2. The doctoral program must be accredited by the American Psychological Association (APA), and meet all of the following criteria:
    • The doctoral program, wherever it may be administratively housed, must be clearly identified and labeled as a psychology program.  Such a program must specify in pertinent institutional catalogs and brochures its intent to educate and train psychologists.
    •  The psychology program must stand as a recognizable coherent organizational entity within the institution.
    • There must be clear authority and primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas whether or not the program cuts across administrative lines.
    • The program must be an integrated, organized sequence of study.
    • The program must have an identifiable psychology faculty and a psychologist responsible for the program.
    • The program must have an identifiable body of students who are matriculated in that program for a degree.
  3. Must have two years of postdoctoral experience in your area of doctoral training and supervised by someone in the same or related area.  One year of the two years can be a pre-doctoral internship if in the areas of clinical, counseling, or school psychology.  The internship is required in those three areas.
  4. Except in school psychology, must have three academic years of study leading to the doctoral degree which includes at least two years of full-time, on campus graduate study (excluding internship). In school psychology, the three academic years leading to the doctoral degree must include a minimum or one year of full-time postmaster's graduate study as defined by the institution (excluding internship).
  5. Pay an application fee of $400.00. 
  6. While in the process of getting licensed, you may work in an exempt state agency or apply to work in an Institution or Private Practice under supervision of a licensed psychologist.  The fee for IPUS or PPUS is $200.00.
  7. Pass the Examination for the Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP) with a scaled score of 500 or better.
  8. Pass the Jurisprudence Examination with a 70% or better.
  9. Pass an oral examination administered by the Board.
  10. After becoming licensed, you will renew your license by December 31 each year.  The renewal fee is $400.00 annually.
  11. Twenty hours of continuing education credits a year are required after becoming licensed.  If you have HSP certification, 3 of the 20 hours must be in areas of ethics, relevant laws and legal issues and/or applicable professional practice guidelines and standards.

 

Please contact Teanne Rose, Executive Officer for an application at Teanne.Rose@psychology.ok.gov or 405/524-9094